自披露工作憑據. 這是你不知道什麼可以傷害

自披露工作憑據. 這是你不知道什麼可以傷害

通過我們的司法系統配套的大型刑事訴訟告訴我關於評估和評價一個人或公司那裡一定程度的風險可能存在的幾件事情.

對於我們的刑事調查是需要從法官的授權: 搜查令; 竊聽, 或任何其他立法工具, 這使我們能夠進一步推動我們的調查. 我們必須包括所有相關的信息, 愛恨情仇, 在應用, 其中輔助法官在公平和平衡的決策. 如果你進行這種方式,成功, 然後它變得非常難以挑戰權證 ’ s 合法性在法院.

然而, 打敗法官的一種方法 ’ s 授權在審判是已知材料的非披露為捍衛 — — 參數,員警沒有向授權法官提供所有相關資訊,如果法官意識到這一點 “新增功能” 信息, 他或她將不會授權. 辯護councel一個成功的說法意味著,通過授權獲得的證據不能在審判中使用.

那麼,這是什麼法律原則都與評估個人或公司的風險? 一切!

當回顧 一個潛在的員工背景 或公司聲稱一套自我披露的信息作為事實, 這是非常危險的信息的基礎上作出的評估僅 他們 提供. 簡歷和學歷, 就像廣告, 都存在固有偏見 — — 某人或某公司將描繪自己在一個有利的光, 強調成績, 和削弱或省略缺點或不免費的事實. 這有什麼不對? 當然不是. 一位候選人的總和 ’ s 是否適合作為雇員或生意夥伴不是自我披露的正面和負面屬性僅僅統計; 然而, 提供的事實應準確, 平實的和可核查.

一次適當的評估個人 ’ s 憑據不完整, 是他們好去? 也許, 但也許不是.

簡歷, 以舉例的方式, 技能列表, 過去就業, 和成就, 但缺少的是一樣的相關重要信息, 如協會, 個人意見, 聲譽或行為模式, 所有這一切都顯示字符, 穩定性, 適用性和風險. 有一個關於該顯示不良的社會或不道德行為的個人和組織日益關注雇主之間和一般公眾. 以往, 最能逃脫它, 但現在, 與權力和社會媒體的範圍和互聯網, 它往往只是時間令人討厭的或可疑的行為,表面遲早的事.

一個熟練的背景研究人員可以在網上找到一個廣泛的信息量 (有時在黑暗深處) 可以在與常規的篩選工具結合使用 (簡歷, 採訪, 犯罪記錄檢查) 繪製候選人更清晰的了解. 一 全面的背景調查 不僅揭示了一個更真實的畫面, 但也可以用來支援或驗證中簡歷或面試的資料. 結合這兩種方法的篩選説明企業做出明智的決定的同時減少風險.

簡單的谷歌搜索不 ’ t 來劃傷表面的網際網路上資訊. 谷歌的結果有時就像冰山可見水線以上. 它 ’ s 是什麼下面是更危險的陰暗深處, 關於, 有關和啟示.

所以, 以一圈又回到我原來的材料不公開的比較: 將用人單位或個人做出,如果他們已經提供的信息相同的決定 (通過徹底的背景調查顯示,) 這是不是在初審披露? 你是法官.

這個教訓是這裡: 訪問所有相關信息, 候選披露和開採被調查, 你犯了一個嚴重的決定之前,.

關於作者

Pat Fogarty 是現在領先的互聯網研究和調查在前的有組織犯罪調查員 噚研究小組. 閱讀 更多關於派特.

Self-Disclosed Employment Credentials. It’s what you don’t know that can hurt

Self-Disclosed Employment Credentials. It’s what you don’t know that can hurt

Supporting large-scale criminal prosecutions through our judicial system has taught me a few things about evaluating and assessing a person or company where a degree of risk may be present.

Essential to our criminal investigations was the need for an authorization from a judge: a search warrant; wiretap, or any other legislative tool, which allowed us to further our investigation. We were required to include all relevant information, both good and bad, in the application, which aided the judge in making a fair and balanced decision. If you proceeded this way and were successful, then it became very difficult to challenge the warrant’s legality in court.

However, one way to defeat the judge’s authorization at trial was a defence known as material non-disclosure—the argument that the police did not provide all relevant information to the authorizing judge and that if the judge was aware of this “new” information, he or she would not have granted the authorization. A successful argument by defence councel meant that the evidence gained through the authorization could not be used at trial.

So what does this legal principle have to do with assessing the risk of person or company? Everything!

When reviewing the background of a potential employee or company purporting a set of self-disclosed information as fact, it is very dangerous to make an assessment exclusively on the basis of information they provide. Resumes and qualifications, like advertisements, are inherently biased—a person or company will depict themselves in a favourable light, emphasizing accomplishments, and diminishing or omitting shortcomings or facts that are less complimentary. Is that wrong? Of course not. The sum total of a candidate’s suitability as an employee or business partner is not a mere tally of self-disclosed positive and negative attributes; however, the facts provided should be accurate, unembellished and verifiable.

Once a proper assessment of an individual’s credentials are complete, are they are good to go? Perhaps, but maybe not.

Resumes, by way of example, list skills, past employment, and achievements, but are missing crucial information that is just as relevant, such as associations, personal views, reputation or patterns of behavior, all of which reveal character, stability, suitability and risk. There is a growing concern amongst employers and the general public regarding individuals and organizations that display poor social or unethical behaviour. In the past, most could get away with it, but now, with the power and scope of social media and the Internet, it’s often just a matter of time before unsavory or suspect behaviour surfaces.

A skilled background researcher can find an extensive amount of information on the web (sometimes in its dark recesses) that can be used in conjunction with conventional screening tools (resumes, interviews, and criminal records checks) to draw a clearer picture of a candidate. A comprehensive background check not only reveals a truer picture, but can also be used to support or verify information provided in resumes or interviews. Combining these two methods of screening helps companies make informed decisions while reducing risk.

A simple Google search doesn’t come scratch the surface of information available on the Internet. Google results are sometimes like the iceberg visible above the water line. It’s what’s below in the murky depths that are more dangerous, concerning, relevant and revelatory.

So, to circle back to my original material non-disclosure comparison: would an employer or individual have made the same decision if they had been provided information (revealed by a thorough background check) that was not disclosed in the initial examination? You be the judge.

The lesson here is: access all relevant information, candidate-disclosed and that mined by investigators, before you make a serious decision.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.