قوة الاتحاد – العثور على جوهره المخفية في التحقيقات

قوة الاتحاد – العثور على جوهره المخفية في التحقيقات

The tunnel investigated

النفق – التحقيق واكتشف.

قبل عدة سنوات, بينما كان يعمل في عصابة الجريمة المنظمة وتحقيق الأعمال, وقد دعوت عليها ضابط مخابرات كندا الجمارك الذي كان يسعى بعض النصائح والمساعدة. وكان هذا الشخص باحترام كبير في المجتمع إنفاذ القانون, والمعروف عن قدرته على شم معلومات جيدة.

كان يبحث في أنشطة مشبوهة أحد المشتبه بهم الذي كان معروفا لإنفاذ القانون. كان متبعا المشتبه به إلى مزرعة مهجورة خارج فانكوفر, تقع حول 75 ياردة من الحدود دون وقاية بين كندا والولايات المتحدة. بالإضافة, كانت الملكية حول 300 ياردة من ميناء Aldergrove الدخول بين البلدين مع حركة مستمرة في وحول المزرعة. على الممتلكات كان كوخ Quonset حيث الكثير من الأنشطة للفرد (ورفاقه) كانت تجري.

…الكثير من الناس لا يعتقد أن هناك أي مصداقية لإمكانية وجود نفق بين بلدينا

اطلع لي أن الأشخاص الذين يعملون في كوخ Quonset تم بناء نوعا من الهيكل داخل موظف الجمارك قد لاحظت وإزالة الأتربة ودخول مواد البناء المختلفة. وكان لديه الشعور الغريزي أنهم قد حفر نفق إلى الولايات المتحدة. على الرغم جود أي دليل يدعم اعتقاده, انه يريد مني أن نلقي نظرة على ذلك. بصفتي مدير الشرطة, كان علي أن يكون استراتيجيا, نشر مواردي بطريقة متأنية مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار كل الضغوط والمطالب التي كانت موجودة. إذا كان هناك أي حقيقة لنظريته, سيكون من قضية أمن وطني لكل من كندا والولايات المتحدة, وهكذا, I المنتخب للمساعدة.

وكان نوع records..this الجنائية للمعلومات زيارتها المشتبه بهم أهمية تذكر لي…كنت أعرف أنه كان جمعياتهم وأنماط السلوك التي كانت أكثر أهمية

ارتكبت زوجين من موارد الشرطة للتحقيق، وأوامره بتحقيق كامل في خلفية المشتبه فيه. أن تكون صادقة, الكثير من الناس لا يعتقد أن هناك أي مصداقية لإمكانية وجود نفق بين بلدينا. وأعتقد أنه بعد تحقيق ورصد بعض كشفت عن أدلة على وجود نشاط إجرامي, أنا ’ د لا خيار لها سوى إيقاف الأشياء. لقد وجدنا أن المشتبه فيهم نحن يحققون السجلات الجنائية وكانت معروفة للشرطة. وكان هذا النوع من المعلومات أهمية تذكر بالنسبة لي, لأنني كنت أعرف أنه رابطاتها وأنماط السلوك التي كانت أكثر أهمية. ثم.. كل شيء يتغير.

ذكرت بلدي المحققون أن كانت قد أنجزت عمليات البحث شبكة الإنترنت وقاعدة البيانات, تحليل وكشف بعض الحقائق. وكان أحد المشتبه فيهم ابن شقيق زوجين كبار السن كانوا يقيمون في المناطق داخلية الولايات المتحدة. هذا الزوج قد اشترت الممتلكات عبر الحدود في الولايات المتحدة. الجانب, مباشرة مقابل الخاصية هت كونست في الجانب الكندي. ومن الغريب, تم شراؤها الملكية الكندية في نفس الوقت تقريبا من قبل الناس المرتبطة مالكي العقارات الأمريكي.

فقط 100 فصل متر خاصيتين. سواء كانت للبيع في نفس الوقت والتي تم شراؤها من قبل أفراد الأسرة ذات صلة. لم الزوجين من الداخلية ليس لديها الوسائل المالية لشراء الممتلكات الثانية ولم تخطط على التحرك. كانت هذه مجرد صدفة? لا فرصة! شيئا ما كان يحدث وكنا على وشك معرفة.

…السجلات الجنائية تعني شيئا للتحقيق; كان البحث على الإنترنت وقواعد البيانات وتحليل التحقيق الذي كان يربط في نهاية المطاف النقاط

كان هناك مبرر الآن واقعية لتعميق التحقيق. أنا ارتكبت موارد إضافية للعمل الملف, والأدلة وجد فريقنا كان دامغة. كان لدينا الامريكى. أغلقت الشركاء المعنيين، وبعد ذلك أسفل العملية بعد السماح المشتبه بهم لاستكمال النفق وبدء التحرك المهربة من خلال الكوة. وكان هذا النفق الأول والوحيد الذي يتم الكشف على الحدود الشمالية بين الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وكندا وحصل على الكثير من اهتمام وسائل الإعلام. وأدين المشتبه بهم جميع.

في النهاية, السجلات الجنائية للأفراد تعني شيئا للتحقيق; كان البحث على الإنترنت وقواعد البيانات, بدعم من التحليل التحقيق, الذي كان يربط في نهاية المطاف النقاط وقدمت الأدلة اللازمة لإدانة.

ولا بد لي من التأكيد على أن الإنترنت وقاعدة بيانات البحث وحده لن يكون كافيا. البحث تفضي إلى الكم الهائل من المعلومات التي الحين ليتم تحليلها من قبل محققين من ذوي الخبرة. انها التحليل أن ينخل من شذرات ذات الصلة من أكوام من البيانات تستخرجه عمليات البحث. انها التحليل أن يكشف عن أنماط.

وكشف عن الجمعيات وأنماط السلوك لشخص ما هو واحد من أكثر أشكال فعالة من التحقيق. هكذا, سواء كنت تملك عمل وهي الاستثمار أو فحص موظف محتمل, أو, تعود وتفكر في المدى الطويل علاقة أو الزواج, والتحقيق والتحليل العميق (ما وراء سجل والائتمان الشيكات الجنائية المعتادة) يوفر في كثير من الأحيان أكثر المعلومات ذات الصلة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بات فوغارتي هو محقق الجريمة المنظمة السابق تقود الآن البحث في الإنترنت والتحقيقات في مجموعة أبحاث القامة. قرأ <ل href="http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?depth=1&hl=en&prev=search&rurl=translate.google.co.uk&sl=ar&u=http://www.fathomresearchgroup.com/about/our-team/?lang=ar&usg=ALkJrhhOGznMVuL29bcRKlgdja-oo8lyBQ">more حول بات .

The Power of Association – Finding the Hidden Gem in Investigations

The Power of Association – Finding the Hidden Gem in Investigations

The tunnel investigated

The tunnel – investigated and discovered.

Several years ago, while working in the gang and organized crime investigation business, I was called upon by a Canada Customs Intelligence Officer who was seeking some advice and assistance. This individual was well respected in the law enforcement community, and known for his ability to sniff out good information.

He was looking into the suspicious activities of a suspect who was known to law enforcement. The suspect had been followed to a derelict farm outside of Vancouver, situated about 75 yards from the unprotected border between Canada and the United States. In addition, the property was about 300 yards from the Aldergrove Port of Entry between the two countries with constant traffic in and around the farm. On the property was a Quonset hut where much of the activities of the individual (and his associates) were taking place.

…not many people believed there was any credibility to the possibility of a tunnel between our two countries

The Customs Officer briefed me that the people working at the Quonset hut were building some sort of structure inside and had observed the removal of soil and the entry of various building materials. He had a gut feeling that they might be digging a tunnel to the United States. Though no evidence existed to support his belief, he wanted me to take a look at it. In my capacity as a police manager, I had to be strategic, deploy my resources in a careful manner while taking into account all the pressures and demands that existed. If there was any truth to his theory, it would be an issue of national security for both Canada and the United States, and so, I elected to help.

The suspects had criminal records..this type of information had little relevance to me…I knew it was their associations and patterns of behaviour that were more important

I committed a couple of police resources to the investigation and ordered a full probe into the suspect’s background. To be truthful, not many people believed there was any credibility to the possibility of a tunnel between our two countries. I thought that after an investigation and some monitoring revealed no evidence of criminal activity, I’d have no choice but to shut things down. We found that the suspects we were investigating had criminal records and were known to police. This type of information had little relevance to me, because I knew it was their associations and patterns of behaviour that were more important. Then…everything changed.

My investigators reported that the Internet and database searches were completed, analyzed and revealed some interesting facts. One of the suspects was the nephew of an older couple that resided in the interior of the United States. This couple had purchased the property just over the border on the U.S. side, directly across from the Quonset hut property on the Canadian side. Curiously, the Canadian property had been purchased at about the same time by people associated with the American property owners.

Just 100 meters separated the two properties. Both were for sale at the same time and purchased by related family members. The couple from the Interior did not have the financial means to purchase a second property and were not planning on moving. Was this just coincidence? Not a chance! Something was going on and we were about to find out.

…the criminal records meant nothing to the investigation; it was the Internet and database searches and investigative analysis which ultimately connected the dots

There was now realistic justification to deepen the investigation. I committed additional resources to work the file, and the evidence our team found was irrefutable. We had our U.S. partners involved and subsequently shut down the operation after allowing the suspects to complete the tunnel and begin moving contraband through the porthole. This was the first and only tunnel to be detected on the Northern border between United States and Canada and garnered a lot of media attention. The suspects were all convicted.

In the end, the criminal records of the individuals meant nothing to the investigation; it was the Internet and database searches, supported by investigative analysis, which ultimately connected the dots and provided the evidence needed for a conviction.

I must emphasize that Internet and database searches alone would not have been sufficient. Searches result in a vast amount of information that then has to be analyzed by experienced investigators. It’s the analysis that sifts out the relevant nuggets from the heaps of data mined by searches. It’s the analysis that reveals the patterns.

Revealing someone’s associations and patterns of behavior is one of the most effective forms of investigation. So, whether you own a business and are investing or screening an potential employee, or, dating and considering a long term relationship or marriage, a deep investigation and analysis (beyond the usual criminal record and credit checks) frequently provides the most relevant information.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.