协会的力量 – 寻找隐藏的宝石在调查

协会的力量 – 寻找隐藏的宝石在调查

The tunnel investigated

隧道 – 调查发现,.

几年前,, 在团伙和有组织犯罪调查业务工作的同时, 我呼吁由加拿大海关情报官员谁是寻求一些建议和帮助. 此人是备受尊敬的执法机构, 而着称的他嗅出了良好的信息的能力.

他寻找到的犯罪嫌疑人谁是众所周知的执法可疑活动. 犯罪嫌疑人已被遵循温哥华外一个废弃的农场, 位于约 75 来自加拿大和美国之间的边境不受保护码. 此外, 物业约 300 在和农场周围的两个国家具有恒定的流量之间码从Aldergrove的入境口岸. 对财产是匡塞特小屋,其中大部分个体的活动 (和他的同事) 正在发生.

…没有多少人相信有任何信誉隧道两国之间的可能性

海关工作人员向我介绍了在匡塞特小屋工作的人建立某种结构内,并观察去除土壤及各种建材的进入. 他有一个感觉:他们可能会挖一个隧道,美国. 虽然没有证据表明存在支持他的信念, 他要我来看看它. 在我作为一个警察经理, 我必须战略, 部署我资源,谨慎的方式,同时考虑到所有存在的压力和要求. 如果有任何真理他的理论, 这将是加拿大和美国国家安全的问题, 所以, 我选择帮助.

该嫌疑人的信息犯罪records..this类型没有什么意义我…我知道这是他们的协会和行为模式,更重要的

我几个警察资源致力调查,并下令全面调查嫌疑犯的背景. 要诚实, 没有多少人相信有任何信誉隧道两国之间的可能性. 我经过调查后认为,和一些监测显示没有犯罪活动的证据, 我 ’ d 别无选择只好关闭的事情. 我们发现,我们正在调查嫌犯有犯罪记录,均是警方. 这种类型的信息已经对我无关紧要, 因为我知道这是他们协会和行为模式,更重要的. 那么,改变一切.

我的调查报告说,互联网和数据库搜索被完成, 分析和揭示了一些有趣的事实. 犯罪嫌疑人之一,是一对老夫妻,居住在美国内部的侄子. 这对夫妇已经购买的财产,只是在对美国边境. 侧, 直接从加拿大这边的圆拱屋属性. 奇怪的是, 加拿大的财产已经购买了大约在同一时间通过与美国业主相关人.

刚 100 米分开的两个属性. 无论是销售的同时,并通过相关的家庭成员购买. 这对夫妻从室内没有购买第二物业的财政手段,并没有打算动. 是这样的巧合? 不是一个机会! 事情是怎么回事,我们即将找到.

…犯罪记录意味着什么查; 这是互联网和数据库检索和调查分析,最终连接点

还有现在的现实理由深化调查. 我犯了更多的资源来工作的文件, 和证据我们的团队发现了无可辩驳. 我们有我们的中美. 参与随后的合作伙伴关机允许犯罪嫌疑人,完成隧道,并开始透过舷窗移动违禁之后的操作. 这是在美国和加拿大之间的北部边界被检测的第一和唯一的隧道,并赢得了很多媒体的关注. 该犯罪嫌疑人全部被判有罪.

到底, 个人的犯罪记录意味着什么可查; 它是因特网和数据库检索, 通过调查分析支持, 最终的连接点,并提供所需要的定罪证据.

我必须强调,互联网和数据库检索单独不会已经足够. 搜索导致大量信息的话已经由经验丰富的侦查员分析. 那就是进行筛选,从数据中搜索所开采堆相关的掘金分析. 那就是揭示了模式的分析.

揭示一个人的协会和行为模式是最有效的形式的调查之一. 所以, 你是否拥有一个 业务投资筛选的潜在员工, 或, 约会并考虑长远 关系 或者婚姻, 一个深刻的调查和分析 (超越了一般的犯罪记录和信用检查) 经常提供最相关的信息.

关于作者

Pat Fogarty 是现在领先的互联网研究和调查在前的有组织犯罪调查员 噚研究小组. 阅读 更多关于帕特.

The Power of Association – Finding the Hidden Gem in Investigations

The Power of Association – Finding the Hidden Gem in Investigations

The tunnel investigated

The tunnel – investigated and discovered.

Several years ago, while working in the gang and organized crime investigation business, I was called upon by a Canada Customs Intelligence Officer who was seeking some advice and assistance. This individual was well respected in the law enforcement community, and known for his ability to sniff out good information.

He was looking into the suspicious activities of a suspect who was known to law enforcement. The suspect had been followed to a derelict farm outside of Vancouver, situated about 75 yards from the unprotected border between Canada and the United States. In addition, the property was about 300 yards from the Aldergrove Port of Entry between the two countries with constant traffic in and around the farm. On the property was a Quonset hut where much of the activities of the individual (and his associates) were taking place.

…not many people believed there was any credibility to the possibility of a tunnel between our two countries

The Customs Officer briefed me that the people working at the Quonset hut were building some sort of structure inside and had observed the removal of soil and the entry of various building materials. He had a gut feeling that they might be digging a tunnel to the United States. Though no evidence existed to support his belief, he wanted me to take a look at it. In my capacity as a police manager, I had to be strategic, deploy my resources in a careful manner while taking into account all the pressures and demands that existed. If there was any truth to his theory, it would be an issue of national security for both Canada and the United States, and so, I elected to help.

The suspects had criminal records..this type of information had little relevance to me…I knew it was their associations and patterns of behaviour that were more important

I committed a couple of police resources to the investigation and ordered a full probe into the suspect’s background. To be truthful, not many people believed there was any credibility to the possibility of a tunnel between our two countries. I thought that after an investigation and some monitoring revealed no evidence of criminal activity, I’d have no choice but to shut things down. We found that the suspects we were investigating had criminal records and were known to police. This type of information had little relevance to me, because I knew it was their associations and patterns of behaviour that were more important. Then…everything changed.

My investigators reported that the Internet and database searches were completed, analyzed and revealed some interesting facts. One of the suspects was the nephew of an older couple that resided in the interior of the United States. This couple had purchased the property just over the border on the U.S. side, directly across from the Quonset hut property on the Canadian side. Curiously, the Canadian property had been purchased at about the same time by people associated with the American property owners.

Just 100 meters separated the two properties. Both were for sale at the same time and purchased by related family members. The couple from the Interior did not have the financial means to purchase a second property and were not planning on moving. Was this just coincidence? Not a chance! Something was going on and we were about to find out.

…the criminal records meant nothing to the investigation; it was the Internet and database searches and investigative analysis which ultimately connected the dots

There was now realistic justification to deepen the investigation. I committed additional resources to work the file, and the evidence our team found was irrefutable. We had our U.S. partners involved and subsequently shut down the operation after allowing the suspects to complete the tunnel and begin moving contraband through the porthole. This was the first and only tunnel to be detected on the Northern border between United States and Canada and garnered a lot of media attention. The suspects were all convicted.

In the end, the criminal records of the individuals meant nothing to the investigation; it was the Internet and database searches, supported by investigative analysis, which ultimately connected the dots and provided the evidence needed for a conviction.

I must emphasize that Internet and database searches alone would not have been sufficient. Searches result in a vast amount of information that then has to be analyzed by experienced investigators. It’s the analysis that sifts out the relevant nuggets from the heaps of data mined by searches. It’s the analysis that reveals the patterns.

Revealing someone’s associations and patterns of behavior is one of the most effective forms of investigation. So, whether you own a business and are investing or screening an potential employee, or, dating and considering a long term relationship or marriage, a deep investigation and analysis (beyond the usual criminal record and credit checks) frequently provides the most relevant information.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.