Ne jamais compter sur un casier judiciaire

Ne jamais compter sur un casier judiciaire

criminal records check

Ne comptez jamais uniquement sur un vérification du casier judiciaire

Il ya beaucoup de poids placé sur une vérification du casier judiciaire qui peut être trompeuse, incomplète et laisser une personne ou organisation ayant un faux sentiment de sécurité. Important que cela puisse paraître, il est tout simplement l'un des outils, qui aura probablement une valeur limitée de sa propre. Un casier judiciaire n'a jamais été conçu pour être un “pertinence” test pour les employeurs, investisseurs ou toute autre personne qui peut avoir une relation où il ya des risques impliqués.

Les suspects les plus dangereuses et sophistiquées que nous poursuivis dans les grandes affaires de complot ne ont pas les criminels de notice du tout. Dans certains cas, ils l'ont fait; cependant, leurs dossiers étaient minimes et sans rapport avec l'activité qu'ils ont été poursuivent actuellement.

Je ne suis plus surpris quand témoin exemples quotidiens d'événements tragiques ou embarrassantes, provoquée par les actions des autres, dont le comportement menace la réputation et la sécurité des individus et des sociétés. Un casier judiciaire de sa propre ne aurait probablement pas changé le résultat final.

Être une secousse, visqueuses ou indignes de confiance ne est pas criminelle

Désagréable, comportement illicite ou contraire à l'éthique ne constitue pas nécessairement un crime

La réalité d'obtenir une condamnation pénale est qu'il nécessite beaucoup de choses pour aller à droite avant d'y arriver. Le code pénal contient une liste des crimes qui nécessitent la “éléments de l'infraction” à prouver. Désagréable, comportement illicite ou contraire à l'éthique ne constitue pas nécessairement un crime; si, être un imbécile, douteux, indigne de confiance, ou visqueuse (et une variété d'autres descripteur que je ne citerai pas) ne est pas criminelle.

Ne Past crimes déclarés / enquête: pas de casier judiciaire

Pour obtenir un casier judiciaire, un crime doit se produire et être signalés

Pour obtenir un casier judiciaire, un crime doit se produire et être signalés. Crimes se produisent tout le temps, mais obtenir leur enquête est une autre affaire. La police ne ont plus la capacité et le temps d'enquêter pleinement et correctement la plupart des crimes, tant de crimes restent largement inaperçue.

Comme mentionné dans mon article Sont criminalité baisse des taux Vraiment?, criminels font les banques ne volent beaucoup plus, et autrement que pour des fins d'assurance, beaucoup de gens tout simplement ne se soucient pas signaler les crimes. L'affaire Ghomeshi et la réticence des femmes à se plaindre officiellement supports ce point de vue avec les pressions imprévisibles que les médias sociaux sur les victimes.

Victime embarras, revictimisation et atteinte à la réputation

Victimes d'actes criminels peuvent se méfier d'être pris dans la rotation lente mais parfois dents pointues de ses engrenages.

La revictimisation, l'embarras et la réputation des dommages à une victime d'un crime (personnel ou d'entreprise) peut être plus destructeur que tout autre aspect du crime lui-même. Il s'agit de des principales causes des crimes pas déclarées, resulting in the continued existence of perpetrators—blithely walking around in our world—with no criminal record evincing their bad nature. The often negative perception of the justice system, et les critiques concernant le traitement des victimes, retards et la bureaucratie, également réduire les incidents des rapports; victimes d'actes criminels peuvent se méfier d'être pris dans la rotation lente mais parfois dents pointues de ses engrenages.

Le coût et le temps nécessaires au maintien de l'ordre, enquêtes et des poursuites criminalité est en hausse. Comme le processus judiciaire met plus de demandes sur le processus d'enquête et juridique, les gouvernements à travers le pays sont à la recherche des moyens de réduire la demande de services, réduire davantage les crimes déclarés.

Changement dans les tendances de la criminalité

Le visage et la tendance de l'activité criminelle est en train de changer beaucoup plus rapidement que les gouvernements et les systèmes judiciaires peuvent répondre à. Cybercriminalité domine la scène mondiale comme la plus grande menace criminelle mondiale…susceptibles de prendre le relais du trafic de drogue. Malheureusement, si les gouvernements et les autorités de sécurité reconnaissent la menace, ils ont un long chemin à parcourir avant d'identifier et de condamner ces criminels.

Il est difficile d'obtenir une condamnation si des accusations peuvent être portées jamais

Dans la province de la Colombie-Britannique, un code criminel accusation sur la base d'un “forte probabilité de condamnation.” Essentially, Cela signifie que la preuve de l'affaire doit être convaincante avant d'envisager une charge. Criminel de nombreux cas, que la police vers l'avant à couronne avocat sont rejetés pour cette raison et jamais devant un juge. A variety of procedural complications, éléments de preuve, Divulgation proactive, problèmes de témoin, retards et difficultés légales sont quelques-unes des questions qui peuvent faire dérailler un cas.

Une déclaration de culpabilité peut prendre des années

Fond privé compagnies de dépistage peut vérifier condamnations seulement (avec le consentement) mais ce dépistage doesn ’ t comprennent un complet, vérification complète de tous les policiers disponibles et bases de données de Cour. It is important to note that not all convictions will show up on someone’s criminal record and there are very lengthy delays in updating the system. Il peut être aussi long que 36 mois pour les condamnations à apposer sur un casier judiciaire.

Bien que les policiers ont beaucoup plus d'informations sur une personne, vous gagné ’ t le voir. Même avec une déclaration de culpabilité, un tribunal peut entrer une libération conditionnelle ou une autre comme ordres ayant pour résultat aucune condamnation pénale déposée.

Casier judiciaire: la vérification des antécédents De facto... PAS!

Le public ’ manque de s de connaissances sur ce que révèle une vérification du casier judiciaire, a fait une industrie du processus

Le public ’ manque de s de connaissances sur ce que révèle une vérification du casier judiciaire, a fait une industrie du processus. Obtenir une vérification de casier judiciaire est relativement simple et bon marché (le coût d'un pot de peinture). Malheureusement, Cette projection — qui peut dénicher rien, ou du moins rien de pertinent — est devenu par erreur la norme « De facto ». Il ’ s une affaire de commodité emporter sur précision, n'impliquant aucun processus d'enquête, évaluation ou des résultats pertinents qui révèlent la véritable nature de l'objet d'enquête.

La plupart des gens ne veulent pas dépenser beaucoup d'argent sur une recherche de fond appropriée et choisir de faire un simple « background check », qui en fin de compte ne peut fournir qu'une personne avec un faux sentiment de sécurité.

Sonde d'investigation Fathom Research Group

Faire des affaires avec quelqu'un qui n'a pas de casier judiciaire, mais dont le comportement est peu recommandables peut avoir autant d'impact sur vos opérations ou à la réputation

À Fathom Research Group, Nous reconnaissons que vérifications des antécédents complets peut être coûteux; si, pour ceux qui souhaitent équilibrer les coûts et les risques, Nous avons développé le “Sonde d'enquête”— une recherche entre 50 et 100 bases de données — visant à identifier les drapeaux rouges. Ce complet, encore abordable enquête fournira un résumé de tout risque potentiel d'une personne ou une entreprise.

Il ya une grande quantité d'informations disponibles qui peuvent fournir une évaluation complète et exacte d'un individu ou de la société. Le péril on fait face lors de l'embauche ou faire des affaires avec une personne qui a une condamnation pénale peut être importante. Faire des affaires avec quelqu'un qui n'a pas de casier judiciaire, mais dont le comportement est douteux ou digne des normes de votre entreprise, peut avoir autant ou plus d'impact sur vos opérations et la réputation.

Pour plus d'informations sur l'enquête complète ou autre le dépistage d'entreprise ou vérifications des antécédents personnels, Fathom contacter au 1-800-217-0097 ou écrivez-nous.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Lire more about Pat.

Never Rely on a Criminal Record

Never Rely on a Criminal Record

criminal records check

Never rely solely on a criminal records check

There is a lot of weight placed on a criminal record check that can be misleading, incomplete and leave a person or organization with a false sense of security. Important as it may seem, it is simply one tool, which will likely have limited value on its own. A criminal record was never designed to be a “suitability” test for employers, investors or anyone else that may have a relationship where there is risk involved.

The most dangerous and sophisticated suspects that we pursued in large conspiracy cases did not have criminals record at all. In some cases they did; however, their records were minimal and irrelevant to the activity they were currently pursuing.

I am no longer surprised when witnessing daily examples of embarrassing or tragic events, brought on by the actions of others, whose behavior threatens the reputation and safety of individuals and corporations. A criminal record on its own would likely not have changed the end result.

Being a jerk, slimy or untrustworthy is not criminal

Distasteful, illicit or unethical behavior does not necessarily constitute a crime

The reality of getting a criminal conviction is that it requires a lot of things to go right before you get there. The criminal code contains a list of crimes that require the “elements of the offense” to be proven. Distasteful, illicit or unethical behavior does not necessarily constitute a crime; so, being a jerk, unreliable, untrustworthy, or slimy (and a variety of other descriptor that I won’t mention) is not criminal.

Not reported/investigated crime: no criminal record

To get a criminal record, a crime needs to occur and be reported

To get a criminal record, a crime needs to occur and be reported. Crimes occur all the time, but getting them investigated is another matter. The police no longer have the capacity and time to fully and properly investigate most crimes, so many crimes go largely undetected.

As mentioned in my article Are Crime Rates Really Falling?, criminals don’t rob banks much anymore, and other than for insurance purposes, many people simply don’t bother reporting crime. The Ghomeshi affair and the reluctance of women to formally complain supports this view along with the unpredictable pressures that social media has on the victims.

Victim embarrassment, re-victimization and reputation damage

Victims of crime may be wary of being caught in the slow turning but sometimes sharp teeth of its gears.

The revictimization, embarrassment and reputation damage to a victim of crime (personal or corporate) can be more destructive than any other aspect of the crime itself. This is a major cause of crimes going unreported, resulting in the continued existence of perpetrators—blithely walking around in our world—with no criminal record evincing their bad nature.  The often negative perception of the justice system, and criticism regarding the treatment of victims, delays and bureaucracy, also reduce incidents of reporting; victims of crime may be wary of being caught in the slow turning but sometimes sharp teeth of its gears.

The cost and time involved in policing, investigating and prosecuting crime is rising. As the judicial process places more demands on investigative and legal process, governments across the country are looking at ways to reduce service demands, further reducing reported crime.

Shift in crime trends

The face and trend of criminal activity is changing far more rapidly than governments and judicial systems can respond to. Cybercrime is dominating the world scene as the biggest global criminal threat…likely to take over from drug trafficking. Unfortunately, though governments and security authorities recognize the threat, they have a long way to go before identifying and convicting these criminals.

It’s tough to get a conviction so charges may never be laid

In the Province of British Columbia, a criminal code charge is laid on the basis of a “substantial likelihood of conviction.”  Essentially, this means the evidence of the case must be compelling before a charge will be considered. Many criminal cases that police forward to Crown counsel are rejected for this reason and never get in front of a judge.  A variety of procedural complications, evidence, disclosure, witness problems, delays and legal challenges are just some of the issues that can derail a case.

A conviction may take years

Private background screening companies can check for convictions only (with consent) but this screening doesn’t include a complete, comprehensive check of all available police and court databases.  It is important to note that not all convictions will show up on someone’s criminal record and there are very lengthy delays in updating the system. It can be as long as 36 months for convictions to be entered onto a criminal record.

Though police have substantially more information on a person, you won’t see it. Even with a conviction, a court can enter a conditional discharge or other like orders resulting in no registered criminal conviction.

Criminal record: the De facto background check…NOT!

The public’s lack of knowledge about what a criminal record check reveals, has made an industry of the process

The public’s lack of knowledge about what a criminal record check reveals, has made an industry of the process. Getting a criminal record check is relatively easy and cheap (the cost of a can of paint). Unfortunately, this screening—which may unearth nothing, or at least nothing relevant—has erroneously become the “De facto” standard. It’s a case of convenience trumping accuracy, involving no investigative process, assessment or relevant results that reveal the true nature of the investigative subject.

Most people do not want to spend a lot of money on a proper background investigation and elect to do a simple “background check”, which in the end may only provide a person with a false sense of security.

Fathom Research Group investigative probe

Doing business with someone who has no criminal record, but whose behavior is unsavory can have as much impact on your operations or reputation

At Fathom Research Group, we recognize that comprehensive background checks can be costly; so, for those who wish to balance cost and risk, we have developed the “Investigative Probe”—a search of between 50 and 100 data bases—geared toward identifying red flags. This comprehensive, yet affordable investigation will provide an executive summary of any potential risk to a person or company.

There is a vast amount of information available that can provide a complete and accurate assessment of an individual or company. The jeopardy one faces when hiring or doing business with a person who has a criminal conviction can be significant. Doing business with someone who has no criminal record, but whose behavior is unsavory or befitting of your company’s standards, can have as much or more impact on your operations and reputation.

For more information about comprehensive investigation or other corporate screening or personal background checks, contact Fathom at 1-800-217-0097 or email us.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.