千萬不要依靠犯罪記錄

千萬不要依靠犯罪記錄

criminal records check

不要完全依賴犯罪記錄查詢

有很多的重量放在犯罪記錄的支票,可能會產生誤導, 不完整的,並留下一個人或組織與安全的錯覺. 重要的,因為它看起來, 它僅僅是一個工具, 這將可能有它自己的限制值. 犯罪記錄是從來沒有設計成一個 “適應性” 測試雇主, 投資者或其他任何人可具有關係,其中有涉及風險.

最危險和複雜的犯罪嫌疑人,我們追求的大陰謀案件沒有犯罪記錄,在所有的. 在某些情況下,他們沒有; 然而, 他們的記錄是最小的和無關的活動,他們目前正在修讀.

我不再驚訝目睹尷尬或不幸事件的日常例子,當, 通過他人的行為所帶來的, 其行為威脅到個人和企業的聲譽和安全. 對自己的犯罪記錄可能不會改變最終的結果.

作為一個混蛋, 粘糊糊的或不可信的不是犯罪

令人反感, 非法或不道德的行為並不一定構成犯罪

獲得刑事定罪的現實是,它需要很多東西去的權利之前,你到達那裡. 刑法包含要求的罪行清單 “該罪行的元素” 被證明. 令人反感, 非法或不道德的行為並不一定構成犯罪; 所以, 作為一個混蛋, 靠不住, 靠不住, 或泥濘 (和其他各種描述,我就不提) 是不是犯罪.

報導/調查犯罪: 無犯罪記錄

為了得到一個犯罪記錄, 犯罪的需要發生,報告

為了得到一個犯罪記錄, 犯罪的需要發生,報告. 犯罪發生的所有的時間, 但讓​​他們調查是另一回事. 警方不再有能力和時間來充分和妥善調查大多數犯罪, 這麼多的罪去很大程度上未被發現.

正如我的文章 是犯罪率真的會降臨?, 罪犯不搶銀行多了, 比為保險起見其他, 很多人根本不打擾報案. 該Ghomeshi事件和婦女不願正式與不可預知的壓力,抱怨支持這一觀點,即社會媒體對受害者.

受害人尷尬, 再次受害和聲譽受損

犯罪受害者可能是警惕陷入緩慢轉動的齒輪它,但有時鋒利的牙齒.

再度受害, 尷尬和聲譽損害犯罪的受害者 (個人或公司) 可以比任何其他方面的犯罪本身更具破壞力. 這是犯罪未報告的捕撈的主要死因, resulting in the continued existence of perpetrators—blithely walking around in our world—with no criminal record evincing their bad nature. The often negative perception of the justice system, 和批評關於受害者的待遇, 延誤和官僚主義, 也減少事件的報告; 犯罪受害者可能是警惕陷入緩慢轉動的齒輪它,但有時鋒利的牙齒.

成本和參與治安的時間, 調查和起訴犯罪呈上升趨勢. 由於司法程序放置在調查和司法程序更多的要求, 全國各地的政府都在尋找方法,以減少服務需求, 進一步降低了報案.

轉變犯罪趨勢

面部和犯罪活動的趨勢正在發生變化遠遠快於政府和司法系統可以響應. 網絡犯罪是獨霸世界舞台作為全球最大的犯罪威脅…可能從販毒接管. 不幸, 儘管各國政府和安全部門承認威脅, 他們有很長的路要走識別和定罪的罪犯之前去.

這是很難得到一個信念,可能永遠不會被落案起訴

在不列顛哥倫比亞省, 刑法典的基礎上提出檢控 “實質上被定罪的可能性。” Essentially, 這意味著本案的證據必須是令人信服,才會考慮收費. 很多刑事案件,員警提出對官方律師拒絕為此和永遠不會得到法庭的審判,. A variety of procedural complications, 證據, 披露, 證人的問題, 延遲和法律上的挑戰是只是一些可以破壞案例的問題.

一種信念可能需要多年

篩選公司的私人背景可以檢查的唯一的信念 (與同意) 但這種篩查不 ’ t 包括完整, 全面檢查所有可用員警和法院資料庫. It is important to note that not all convictions will show up on someone’s criminal record and there are very lengthy delays in updating the system. 它可以只要 36 幾個月要進入到犯罪記錄的信念.

雖然員警已極大地更多的資訊,對一個人, 你贏得了 ’ 看不到. 甚至有一種信念, 法院可以輸入有條件釋放或其他像訂單導致沒有註冊的刑事定罪.

犯罪記錄: 事實上的背景檢查...不!

市民 ’ s 缺乏關於刑事紀錄的查核所揭示的知識, 取得了工業過程

市民 ’ s 缺乏關於刑事紀錄的查核所揭示的知識, 取得了工業過程. 刑事紀錄的查核是相對容易和便宜 (一罐油漆的費用). 不幸, 此篩選 — — 這可能會挖掘出什麼, 或者至少不是什麼有關 — — 錯誤地已成為"事實上"的標準. 它 ’ s 一例方便勝過了精度, 涉及任何調查過程, 評估或揭示偵查主體的真實本質的相關結果.

大多數人不想花很多錢在適當背景調查來選出我們來做一個簡單的"背景檢查", 到底哪可能只為一個人提供虛假的安全感.

揣摸課題組調查探針

與有無犯罪記錄的人做生意, 但其行為是令人討厭可以有盡可能多影響你的操作或聲譽

噚研究小組, 我們認識到, 全面的背景調查 可能代價高昂; 所以, 對於那些想要平衡成本和風險, 我們開發了 “調查探針”— — 之間的搜索 50 和 100 資料基地 — — 面向識別紅色旗. 這樣的綜合性, 負擔得起調查尚未將向某人或某公司提供任何潛在風險執行的摘要.

有可用的大量信息,可以提供個人或公司的完整和準確的評估. 1僱用或做生意的人誰擁有刑事定罪可顯著時所面臨的危險. 與有無犯罪記錄的人做生意, 但其行為是令人厭惡的,或你的公司的標準befitting, 可以對你的業務和聲譽盡可能多或更具衝擊力.

有關全面的調查或其他詳細信息 企業的篩選個人背景調查, 聯繫在英尋 1-800-217-0097 或 給我們發電子郵件.

關於作者

Pat Fogarty 是現在領先的互聯網研究和調查在前的有組織犯罪調查員 噚研究小組. 閱讀 更多關於派特.

Never Rely on a Criminal Record

Never Rely on a Criminal Record

criminal records check

Never rely solely on a criminal records check

There is a lot of weight placed on a criminal record check that can be misleading, incomplete and leave a person or organization with a false sense of security. Important as it may seem, it is simply one tool, which will likely have limited value on its own. A criminal record was never designed to be a “suitability” test for employers, investors or anyone else that may have a relationship where there is risk involved.

The most dangerous and sophisticated suspects that we pursued in large conspiracy cases did not have criminals record at all. In some cases they did; however, their records were minimal and irrelevant to the activity they were currently pursuing.

I am no longer surprised when witnessing daily examples of embarrassing or tragic events, brought on by the actions of others, whose behavior threatens the reputation and safety of individuals and corporations. A criminal record on its own would likely not have changed the end result.

Being a jerk, slimy or untrustworthy is not criminal

Distasteful, illicit or unethical behavior does not necessarily constitute a crime

The reality of getting a criminal conviction is that it requires a lot of things to go right before you get there. The criminal code contains a list of crimes that require the “elements of the offense” to be proven. Distasteful, illicit or unethical behavior does not necessarily constitute a crime; so, being a jerk, unreliable, untrustworthy, or slimy (and a variety of other descriptor that I won’t mention) is not criminal.

Not reported/investigated crime: no criminal record

To get a criminal record, a crime needs to occur and be reported

To get a criminal record, a crime needs to occur and be reported. Crimes occur all the time, but getting them investigated is another matter. The police no longer have the capacity and time to fully and properly investigate most crimes, so many crimes go largely undetected.

As mentioned in my article Are Crime Rates Really Falling?, criminals don’t rob banks much anymore, and other than for insurance purposes, many people simply don’t bother reporting crime. The Ghomeshi affair and the reluctance of women to formally complain supports this view along with the unpredictable pressures that social media has on the victims.

Victim embarrassment, re-victimization and reputation damage

Victims of crime may be wary of being caught in the slow turning but sometimes sharp teeth of its gears.

The revictimization, embarrassment and reputation damage to a victim of crime (personal or corporate) can be more destructive than any other aspect of the crime itself. This is a major cause of crimes going unreported, resulting in the continued existence of perpetrators—blithely walking around in our world—with no criminal record evincing their bad nature.  The often negative perception of the justice system, and criticism regarding the treatment of victims, delays and bureaucracy, also reduce incidents of reporting; victims of crime may be wary of being caught in the slow turning but sometimes sharp teeth of its gears.

The cost and time involved in policing, investigating and prosecuting crime is rising. As the judicial process places more demands on investigative and legal process, governments across the country are looking at ways to reduce service demands, further reducing reported crime.

Shift in crime trends

The face and trend of criminal activity is changing far more rapidly than governments and judicial systems can respond to. Cybercrime is dominating the world scene as the biggest global criminal threat…likely to take over from drug trafficking. Unfortunately, though governments and security authorities recognize the threat, they have a long way to go before identifying and convicting these criminals.

It’s tough to get a conviction so charges may never be laid

In the Province of British Columbia, a criminal code charge is laid on the basis of a “substantial likelihood of conviction.”  Essentially, this means the evidence of the case must be compelling before a charge will be considered. Many criminal cases that police forward to Crown counsel are rejected for this reason and never get in front of a judge.  A variety of procedural complications, evidence, disclosure, witness problems, delays and legal challenges are just some of the issues that can derail a case.

A conviction may take years

Private background screening companies can check for convictions only (with consent) but this screening doesn’t include a complete, comprehensive check of all available police and court databases.  It is important to note that not all convictions will show up on someone’s criminal record and there are very lengthy delays in updating the system. It can be as long as 36 months for convictions to be entered onto a criminal record.

Though police have substantially more information on a person, you won’t see it. Even with a conviction, a court can enter a conditional discharge or other like orders resulting in no registered criminal conviction.

Criminal record: the De facto background check…NOT!

The public’s lack of knowledge about what a criminal record check reveals, has made an industry of the process

The public’s lack of knowledge about what a criminal record check reveals, has made an industry of the process. Getting a criminal record check is relatively easy and cheap (the cost of a can of paint). Unfortunately, this screening—which may unearth nothing, or at least nothing relevant—has erroneously become the “De facto” standard. It’s a case of convenience trumping accuracy, involving no investigative process, assessment or relevant results that reveal the true nature of the investigative subject.

Most people do not want to spend a lot of money on a proper background investigation and elect to do a simple “background check”, which in the end may only provide a person with a false sense of security.

Fathom Research Group investigative probe

Doing business with someone who has no criminal record, but whose behavior is unsavory can have as much impact on your operations or reputation

At Fathom Research Group, we recognize that comprehensive background checks can be costly; so, for those who wish to balance cost and risk, we have developed the “Investigative Probe”—a search of between 50 and 100 data bases—geared toward identifying red flags. This comprehensive, yet affordable investigation will provide an executive summary of any potential risk to a person or company.

There is a vast amount of information available that can provide a complete and accurate assessment of an individual or company. The jeopardy one faces when hiring or doing business with a person who has a criminal conviction can be significant. Doing business with someone who has no criminal record, but whose behavior is unsavory or befitting of your company’s standards, can have as much or more impact on your operations and reputation.

For more information about comprehensive investigation or other corporate screening or personal background checks, contact Fathom at 1-800-217-0097 or email us.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.