律師是不合法的調查.
法律調查不是律師

律師是不合法的調查.
法律調查不是律師

legal-investigators我總是發現與律師和法律工作的過程成為最有趣的部分之一 我的執法生涯. 尤其耐人尋味, 分別涉及複雜的調查和起訴戰略的重大案件. 它們帶來多少激情, 和, 有時加熱, 和激烈辯論. 集體的工作從調查過程中起訴和最終的司法處置的開始帶來的完成和滿足感.

研究者帶來不同的技能表

一個良好的法律調查是一個顯著資產的律師, 收集信息和驗證支持案件事實.

一個好的 法律調查 是顯著資產的律師, 收集信息和驗證支持案件事實, 提供法律論證的基礎, 並增加了積極成果的機會. 調查採用的技術和研究技能,一個律師可能沒有執行能力或時間.

數字時代已經改變了一些在常規調查的進行方式, 擴大調查達到和深化信息資源的池. 而傳統的搜索引擎是不能夠訪問大量的存在於網絡上的高質量信息, 開源智能和數據挖掘的深網, 已成為重要的法律調查.

確定, 定位和見證人

訓練有素的面試技巧的調查人員和獲取報表可以幫助在事實調查過程.

在許多法律調查, 證人需要確定, 找到並採訪. 一位有經驗的調查員,在先進的互聯網研究技能往往能發現並提供證人顯著背景資料. 調查人員在面試技巧培訓,並獲得語句可以幫助一個事實調查過程中發現或證據不容易的題目披露.

綜合證人或負責人,利益的背景調查

審查證人, 包括對方律師的, 可提供顯著優勢一名律師. 一 全面的背景調查 可以識別的證據最初沒有披露, 揭示人物, 廉正, 聲譽, 監管和財務問題, 或, 協會和可能援助在許多方面的交叉的核對總和見證設定檔的行為模式.

財務和資產搜索

分析和調查的過程中將提供更清楚的瞭解一個人或公司所持有的資產.

金融資產和資產調查 可以找出隱藏的屬性, 空殼公司, 和其他持有的偵查主體或其 提名人— — 個人或公司的名字在標題僅用於股票, 房地產和其他資產, 隱瞞實際所有者的身份.

調查人員可以使用開放資源和專有數據庫和研究技術,以合法揭示資產或金融控股. 資產調查,依靠強勁的搜索功能和特定的知識支持的研究方法. 分析和調查的過程中將提供更清楚的瞭解一個人或公司所持有的資產.

開源, 分析和調查過程

研究者可以連接這些點放在一起的情報主要來源.

信息技術已經從根本上改變了一些我們如何調查. 發展必要的線上調查技能進行身份驗證, 背景分析, 評估個人, 法律和金融的歷史, 並確定協會, 需要可公開獲得的大量的知識 (雖然經常隱藏) 互聯網資源.

一名調查員可以連接點和放在一起的關鍵來源的情報,協助法律顧問 ’ s 的位置 — — 建立協會和行為模式,可以支援他們的策略,説明確保預期的效果,法院.

房地產和遺囑認證調查

有很多的技術和技能所需尋找的人, 和甚至為一家專業,它可以是一個艱巨的任務. 調查人員在確定模式和思維訓練 “外箱” 經常可以建立一個人 ’ s 下落. 人是習慣的動物, 而且往往是關閉雷達,但有時附近 — — 藏在.

如果需要重建歷史或公司歷史, 一名調查員可以説明拼湊失蹤的事實, 檔和證人.

電子組織和管理複雜的情況下,材料

複雜的情況和調查需要分配的任務, 決定日誌和問責的過程.

法律研究者經歷了重大的案件管理常規準備法院簡報, 通過數字化信息披露包支持的報告和證詞的組織和搜索. 複雜的情況和調查需要分配的任務, 決定日誌和支持速度的問責程序, 任何法律的情況下的流動和方向. 研究者可以抓住, 文件, 分析, 並保持展品的連續性.

你需要法律調查服務?

如果你是一名律師誰需要調查的支持服務, 噚研究小組 帶來了幾十年的經驗,以法律調查和案件管理. 如果您對我們的服務有任何疑問, 還是想討論我們如何能夠幫助, 聯繫我們.

關於作者

Pat Fogarty 是現在領先的互聯網研究和調查在前的有組織犯罪調查員 噚研究小組. 閱讀 更多關於派特.

Lawyers are not Legal Investigators.
Legal Investigators are not Lawyers

Lawyers are not Legal Investigators.
Legal Investigators are not Lawyers

legal-investigatorsI’ve always found working with lawyers and the legal process to be one of the most interesting parts of my law enforcement career. Especially intriguing, were the major cases that involved complex investigative and prosecutorial strategies. They evoked much passion, and, at times heated, and intense debate. Working collectively from the beginning of an investigative process to a prosecution and final judicial disposition brought a sense of completion and satisfaction.

Investigators bring different skills to the table

A good legal investigator is a significant asset to a lawyer, gathering information and verifying facts that support cases.

A good legal investigator is a significant asset to a lawyer, gathering information and verifying facts that support cases, providing the foundation for legal argument, and increasing the chances of a positive outcome. Investigators employ techniques and research skills that a lawyer may not have the ability or time to perform.

The digital age has changed some of the ways in which conventional investigations are conducted, extending the investigators reach and deepening the pool of information sources. While traditional search engines are not capable of accessing the vast amounts of high quality information that exists on the web, open source intelligence and data mining the deep web, have become crucial to legal investigations.

Identifying, locating and interviewing witnesses

Investigators trained in interview techniques and obtaining statements can assist in a fact-finding process.

In many legal investigations, witnesses need to be identified, located and interviewed. An experienced investigator with skills in advanced Internet research can often find and provide significant background information on a witness. Investigators trained in interview techniques and obtaining statements can assist in a fact-finding process or uncover evidence not readily disclosed by the subject.

Comprehensive witness or persons-of-interest background checks

Vetting witnesses, including those of opposing counsel, can provide a litigator with significant advantages. A comprehensive background check can identify evidence not initially disclosed, revealing character, integrity, reputation, regulatory and financial issues, or, associations and patterns of behaviour that may aid in many aspects of a cross examination and witness profile.

Financial and asset searches

An analytical and investigative process will provide a clearer understanding of the assets held by a person or company.

Financial and asset investigations can identify hidden property, shell companies, and other holdings of an investigation subject or their nominee—a person or company whose name is used on title only for stocks, real estate and other assets, to hide the identity of the actual owner.

Investigators can use open sources and proprietary databases and research techniques to legally uncover assets or financial holdings. An asset investigation relies on a research methodology supported by strong search capabilities and particular knowledge. An analytical and investigative process will provide a clearer understanding of the assets held by a person or company.

Open source, analytical and investigative process

An investigator can connect the dots and put together key sources of intelligence.

Information technology has fundamentally changed some of how we investigate. Developing the necessary online investigation skills for identity verification, background profiling, assessing personal, legal and financial histories, and identifying associations, requires significant knowledge of publicly available (though often hidden) Internet resources.

An investigator can connect the dots and put together key sources of intelligence to assist counsel’s position—establishing associations and patterns of behavior that can support their strategy and help ensure the desired results in court.

Estate and probate investigation

There are many techniques and skills required to find people, and even for a professional it can be a daunting task. Investigators trained in identifying patterns and thinking “outside the box” can often establish a person’s whereabouts. People are creatures of habit, and often are off the radar but sometimes close by—hiding in plain sight.

If a historical reconstruction or corporate history is required, an investigator can help piece together missing facts, documents and witnesses.

Electronically organizing and managing complex case material

Complex cases and investigations require assigned tasks, decision logs and an accountability process.

Legal investigators experienced in major case management routinely prepare court briefs, reports and affidavits supported by digital disclosure packages that are organized and searchable. Complex cases and investigations require assigned tasks, decision logs and an accountability process in support of the speed, flow and direction of any legal case. Investigators can seize, document, analyze, and maintain the continuity of exhibits.

Do you require legal investigation services?

If you are a lawyer who needs investigative support services, Fathom Research Group brings decades of experience to legal investigation and case management. If you have any questions about our services, or would like to discuss how we can help, contact us.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.