是社会化媒体影响我们的行为,或揭露它?

是社会化媒体影响我们的行为,或揭露它?

Social media: sometimes a community; sometimes a hunting ground

社交媒体: 有时社区; 有时一个狩猎场

我们是我们的环境产品, 由生活事件和环境的影响. 社交媒体已经改变了我们的方法来购物, 教育和关系. 难道社交媒体影响我们的行为或简单的暴露?

不断发展, 社交媒体可以被描述为在线社区的交流和共享. 最终的结果是人影响人. 这将创建显著可能改变和影响社会无论是在积极和消极的方式.

市场营销和操纵

市场营销战略,有时被认为是一种消费者操纵, 由于社会媒体正在改变. 在线购物, 产品评论, 消费者反馈公司社交媒体网站上, 服务比较, 和所有的竞争影响我们对公司的看法, 最终决定和影响我们从他们那里购买, 或与他们做生意.

人们想要了解他们的产品和服务的对话的一部分 — — 正面或负面

作为在线采购增加, 零售企业面临着长期的转型策略,优化他们在各自行业中的社交媒体足迹和市场份额. 了解人们想要对话有关其产品和服务的一部分 — — 正面或负面; 因此, 公司有既得利益在活跃的社会媒体参与者.

社交媒体, 政治和机构

奧巴馬 ’ s 成功上升到在白宫椭圆形办公室贷记到社会媒体在他的竞选活动中的使用. 在参加募捐活动少, 奥巴马总统延长他够不着, 设法提高对 55 百万美元. 社交媒体网站,如Facebook, YouTube和Twitter现在被视为廉价的工具,政治家和企业推广产品, 服务, 和自己.

社交媒体和道德问题

达尔豪斯大学最近暂停 13 从临床工作的牙科学生在厌恶女人的意见,据称在Facebook上发布. 根据对CBC, DDS的君子页类Facebook上的成员投票决定哪个女人,他们想有 “恨” 性行为并开玩笑说用氯仿对women.The回应这篇文章,围绕对妇女暴力问题的流传在社会化媒体. 批评集中于学科的相应级别的大学应该采取, 数百名示威者振臂大学校长办公室外.

没有社交媒体创建这个问题,或者暴露? Facebook的只是一个沟通的平台,这些牙科学生分享他们的想法和活动. 社交媒体曝丑闻,点燃对妇女的暴力问题, 处罚和恢复性司法.

社交媒体的力量进行沟通和动员

示威者使用社交媒体平台来协调集会, 信息, 和国外的同情者

在 2009, 伊朗政府在这一被称为选举后的抗议活动实行了新闻封锁 “绿色革命.” 示威者使用社交媒体平台来协调集会, 信息, 和国外的同情者, 通知国家内部活动的西方记者。”报告的直接紧握”, 报道华盛顿时报. 记者甚至给德黑兰的动乱第二个绰号: 该 “Twitter的革命”.

伊朗实行封锁和随后的现象,现在被视为全球社会化媒体革命的开始. 智能手机, 网页, Facebook的, Twitter和其他社交媒体平台改变了游戏规则, 赋予公民的新权力改变或影响真实世界的事件.

互联网正在成为事实上的真正形式的民主吗? 社交媒体允许人们说话,听到, 缺席的政府管制.

就是在关系或资料中的力量?

所以可取用的资料, 社交媒体是影响和在全球各地建立通过共同的思想和活动的关系

互联网, 搜索引擎和社交媒体开辟了信息到点在那里,任何人都可以获取的知识,他们可能想要或需要的闸门. 我学会了弹吉他, 建立一个车间,并完成了许多项目,并通过信息活动的网站和YouTube上找到.

企业和机构正在拆除筒仓, 提供他们的课程免费的网络版本. 这种转变似乎围绕信息共享,进而发展关系. 所以可取用的资料, 社交媒体是影响和在全球各地建立通过共同的思想和活动的关系.

互联网和社交媒体使人们对准自己对各种政治, 社会和道德科目, 政府主要是不受控制.

社交媒体, 指挥和控制中心

…社交媒体和互联网技术是真实的,不断发展的威胁. 恐怖主义, 网络欺凌, 政府和机构的黑客就是例子…

英国情报局有 指出,社交媒体已经成为 “指挥和控制网络” 恐怖分子和犯罪分子. 在十一月 2014, 金融时报报道,英国情报机构知道ISIS极端分子使用短信服务,如Facebook, Twitter和WhatsApp的达到他们的同龄人. 安全机构希望从美国的更大支持. 科技公司主宰的网络,以对抗武装分子和有关暴力极端主义和剥削儿童那些谁主体材料.

这种消极的社会媒体和互联网技术方面是一个真正的和不断变化的威胁. 恐怖主义, 网络欺凌, 政府和机构的黑客有风险的例子. 政府, 执法部门和安全机构被迫作出回应, 苛刻的协调新的水平, 伙伴关系和共享情报. 互联网和社交媒体有深远的影响,对世界如何应对全球风险. 一些人会认为我们的威胁,而不是预期和控制它们的活性更强.

没有社交媒体影响我们的行为? 我想是的. 就像这些平台可以促进个人自由沟通和交流信息和思想, 也可以让我们陷入不可能立足于现实的虚拟世界. 它批评很容易, 特别是在电脑前. 尽管关系可以在网上形成, 没有什么比面对面交流. 互联网和社交媒体我们生活的改变和影响了许多方面, 并且将继续在可预见的未来.

社交媒体和犯罪

犯罪分子采取互联网和社交媒体提供的内部连接和匿名的优势. 虚拟世界创造了不同的方式来实施传统犯罪. 参与欺凌/骚扰罪犯, 盯梢, 恐怖主义, 骗局, 和身份盗窃都找到了新的狩猎场和巢穴, 有工作的地方是潜在的受害者的宝库和被抓的风险较低.

在该硬币的另一侧, 执法部门已调整到这个新的世界, 利用互联网和社交媒体调查犯罪, 并提高公众意识和安全.

社交媒体, 背景调查, 和背景调查

无论调查的类型, 调查人员必须从任何相关资源数据挖掘, 包括互联网和社交媒体平台的综合搜索. 研究大量的数据在互联网的深度内举行是项艰巨的任务, 但必须拥有的工具在背景调查员 ’ s 工具箱. 在 公司背景调查就业前筛查 , 社交媒体已经成为一块小但重要的拼图寻找保护个人和公司的信息.

关于作者

Pat Fogarty 是现在领先的互联网研究和调查在前的有组织犯罪调查员 噚研究小组. 阅读 更多关于帕特.

Is Social Media Influencing Our Behaviour or Exposing It?

Is Social Media Influencing Our Behaviour or Exposing It?

Social media: sometimes a community; sometimes a hunting ground

Social media: sometimes a community; sometimes a hunting ground

We are products of our environment, influenced by life events and circumstances. Social media has altered our approach to shopping, education and relationships. Does social media influence our behavior or simple expose it?

Constantly evolving, social media could be described as online communities for communicating and sharing. The end result is people influencing people. This creates significant potential to transform and affect society both in positive and negative ways.

Marketing and manipulation

Marketing strategies that are sometimes considered a form of consumer manipulation, are changing because of social media. Online shopping, product reviews, consumer feedback on company social media sites, service comparisons, and competition all influence our opinion about a company, and ultimately influence our decision to purchase from them, or do business with them.

people want to be part of a dialogue about their products and services—either positively or negatively

As online purchasing increases, retail companies face long-term transformation strategies to optimize their social media footprint and market share in their respective industries. The understand that people want to be part of a dialogue about their products and services—either positively or negatively; therefore, companies have a vested interest in being active social media participants.

Social media, politics and institutions

Barack Obama’s successful rise to the oval office was credited to the use of social media in his election campaign. While attending fewer fundraisers, President Obama extended his reach, managing to raise about 55 million dollars. Social media sites like Facebook, YouTube and Twitter are now seen as inexpensive tools for politicians and businesses to promote products, services, and themselves.

Social media and moral issues

Dalhousie University recently suspended 13 dentistry students from clinical duties over misogynistic comments allegedly posted on Facebook. According to the CBC, members of the Class of DDS Gentlemen page on Facebook voted on which woman they’d like to have “hate” sex with and joked about using chloroform on women.The response to this post and the issue surrounding violence against women went viral on social media. Criticism focused on the appropriate level of discipline the university should take, with hundreds of protesters rallying outside the university president’s office.

Did social media create this problem or expose it? Facebook was simply a communication platform for these dentistry students to share their thoughts and activities. Social media exposed the scandal and ignited the issue of violence against women, punishment and restorative justice.

Social media’s power to communicate and mobilize

Protesters used social media platforms to coordinate rallies, information, and sympathizers abroad

In 2009, the Iranian government imposed a media blackout during post-election protests that became known as the “Green Revolution.” Protesters used social media platforms to coordinate rallies, information, and sympathizers abroad, informing Western journalists of the countries internal activities.”The immediacy of the reports were gripping”, reported the Washington Times. Journalists even gave the unrest in Tehran a second moniker: the “Twitter Revolution”.

The Iranian imposed blackout and subsequent phenomenon now seen as the beginning of the global social media revolution. Smartphones, the web, Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms had changed the rules of the game, giving citizens new powers to change or influence real-world events.

Is the Internet becoming the de facto true form of democracy? Social media allows people to speak and be heard, absent of government control.

Is power in relationships or in information?

With information so accessible, social media is influencing and building relationships through common thought and activities across the globe

The Internet, search engines and social media have opened up the floodgates of information to the point where anyone is able to acquire the knowledge they may want or need. I learn to play the guitar, build a workshop and complete numerous projects and activities through information found on the web and YouTube.

Businesses and institutions are tearing down silos, offering free web versions of their courses. The shift seems to center around sharing information and in turn developing relationships. With information so accessible, social media is influencing and building relationships through common thought and activities across the globe.

The Internet and social media have allowed people to align themselves on a variety of political, social and ethical subjects, largely uncontrolled by government.

Social media, the command and control center

…social media and Internet technology is a real and evolving threat. Terrorism, cyber bullying, government and institutional hacking are examples…

The British Intelligence Agency has stated that social media has become the “command-and-control networks” for terrorist and criminals. In November 2014, the Financial Times reported that British intelligence agencies know that ISIS extremists use messaging services like Facebook, Twitter and WhatsApp to reach their peers. Security Agencies wants greater support from the U.S. technology companies that dominate the Web in order to fight militants and those who host material about violent extremism and child exploitation.

This negative aspect of social media and Internet technology is a real and evolving threat. Terrorism, cyber bullying, government and institutional hacking are examples of risks. Governments, law enforcement and security agencies are forced to respond, demanding new levels of coordination, partnerships and sharing of intelligence. The Internet and social media have had a profound influence on how the world responds to global risk. Some would argue that we more reactive to threats rather than anticipating and controlling them.

Does social media influences our behavior?  I think it does.  As much as these platforms can facilitate individuals to communicate freely and exchange information and thought, we can also get stuck in a virtual world that may not be grounded in reality. It is easy to criticize, particularly in front of a computer. Although relationships can be formed online, nothing beats face to face communications. The Internet and social media have changed and influenced many aspects of our lives, and will continue for the foreseeable future.

Social media and crime

Criminals have taken advantage of the inter-connectivity and anonymity provided by the Internet and social media. The virtual world has created different ways to commit conventional crimes. Criminals involved in bullying/harassment, stalking, terrorism, fraud, and identity theft have all found a new hunting ground and lair, working where there is a treasure trove of potential victims and a lower risk of being caught.

On the other side of that coin, law enforcement has adjusted to this new world, using the Internet and social media to investigate crime, and increase public awareness and safety.

Social media, background checks, and background investigations

Regardless of the type of investigation, investigators must mine data from any relevant resource, including a comprehensive search of the Internet and social media platforms.  Researching the vast amounts of data held within the depths of the Internet is a daunting task, but a must-have tool in a background investigator’s toolbox. In corporate background investigation or pre-employment screening , social media has become a small but important piece of the puzzle for finding information that protects individuals and companies.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.