调查故障: 拙劣调查的实际成本

调查故障: 拙劣调查的实际成本

broken investigations

为什么这么多的调查出问题?

社会化媒体已经对社会如何产生深远的影响, 政府和机构运作. 尽管社交媒体可能不会直接改变社会的文化, 它肯定会暴露. 所以,当事情出错和 背景调查 是必须的, 放心,社会化媒体在看,并要求我们承担责任.

随着越来越多的拙劣调查暴露, 调查人员需要仔细看看如何开展调查.

随着越来越多的拙劣调查暴露, 调查人员需要仔细看看如何开展调查,以逃避调查失败.

有时, 某些复杂的情况出现, 其中必要的组织的日常事务之外的调查回应. 这些措施可能包括多个内部盗窃或损坏, 严重骚扰的问题或严重事故. 开展和协调复杂的调查非凡的管理需求, 可以将那些在其方向与电荷放在压倒性的情况 — — 往往最终在法庭上的结果. 认识到调查技能和协议是必须确保的准确性和完整性 调查过程.

如何构造和进行调查可以显著影响调查和制裁它组织的公信力. 或大或小, 调查被视为公正的实况调查程序受权揭示真相 — — 一个简单的概念,那经常获取出轨从一开始.

有太多太多的失败的调查

CBC 电台人格建 Gomeshi 涉嫌性犯罪是一个例子在那里组织可能已经来不及认识问题和慢作出适当的反应

指控或太快速反应后的情况, 过慢或者不恰当的结构为任务的复杂性是家常便饭.

CBC电台个性健Gomeshi的涉嫌性犯罪是一个例子,其中一个组织可能已经晚均承认有问题 慢交付保护员工适当的反应,该公司的诚信. 所以 许多问题.

调查失败的另一个例子是卑诗省政府的不公平射击或暂停 7 一系列的数据被破坏和不适当的卫生工作者使用的私人信息. 拙劣的政府调查是由公元前劳工律师独立审查的主题, 马西娅 · 麦克尼尔, 谁 得出结论,公元前. 政府的调查有缺陷 从一开始 “与员工行为不当先入为主理论着手” 这导致过早的结论有罪. 处理不当的调查导致昂贵的联盟不满, 庭外和解, 和可悲的是, 一个发射合作社安置学生自杀.

在另一个不好处理 2012 调查伯恩斯湖和乔治王子城两个大型锯木厂爆炸, BC, 原因是由WorkSafeBC的确定为锯末粉碎机内积聚. 经调查, WorkSafeBC的敦促监管费铺设, 但卑诗省刑事司法处发现的WorkSafeBC有 进行调查不当. 调查人员没有遵循正当程序收集证据或质疑经理, 其结果冠不能铺设费用. 调查计划和结构从一开始就存在缺陷. 结果: 任何人或公司正在召开的预防悲剧导致问责 20 伤病和 2 死亡.

感知和过程就是一切
及时,适当地进行调查是很重要的任何组织的完整性和可信性. 出问题, 当他们这样做, 领导者建立适当的调查方案和做正确的事情很重要. 人们只需要阅读的画面对自己在媒体上, 在那里他们的行动和决定解剖在法庭上或其他公共查询. 它发生的时间. 与上面列出的例子, 信任和信心,任何组织都可以当调查有缺陷被显著损坏.

您的企业可以逃避调查故障

这里有一些事情时,面临的情况,可能需要进行调查,以考虑:

你知不知道什么, 你是什​​么时候知道的, 和你做些什么?
在残酷的现实是,这些问题会造成你的老板给你, 媒体或司法调查情况在你脸上吹的时候; 所以, 它 ’ s 最好考虑这些问题中任何潜在的调查的早期阶段.

应具有结果没有利益关系的人进行调查.
应该有无干扰, 政治或以其他方式和没有先入为主的概念的结果. As potentially disruptive as an investigation can be, 它应该是提示, 彻底和有效的保证大家的保护. 考虑聘请一个专业从组织外部. 它可以让人们说话更加自由而不用担心来自内部的压力. 适当的调查应本着诚信进行, 保密和带领由它产生的证据.

所获取的资料必须进行检查和验证来源. 它的基础上由弱来源的信息是困难和危险得出结论

记录和验证
任何调查最常见的批评之一是缺乏文件. 每项调查需要一个详细的书面的帐户,所采取的行动, 语句和支持特定的行动方针作出决定. There is no other way in which to establish a record of the events. 一样, 佐证和验证事实的重要性是关键. 所获取的资料必须进行检查和验证来源. 是困难和危险的基础上从弱来源的信息,以得出结论,其中的信息的真实性尚未建立.

的计划, 任何计划, 倒不如说没有计划
总是组织起你的头或调查之前建立计划. 时机是关键, 但不要惊慌. 考虑不周的反应导致问题和并发症,可能无法修复. 一个深思熟虑, 积极的态度, 考虑到适当的调查标准, 将确保该过程被精确地完成, 公平和符合法律原则.

一个运作良好的公司正在准备一份调查过程. 它通常是最简单的, 直截了当的事项,可导致最悲伤. 请考虑使用一个独立的, 专业的 企业调查 具有较强的, 核查的背景. 该认定的事实进行调查 经得起推敲需要一个结构化的方法, 精心策划, 适当的资源和​​熟练的调查.

关于作者

Pat Fogarty 是现在领先的互联网研究和调查在前的有组织犯罪调查员 噚研究小组. 阅读 更多关于帕特.

Investigation Failure: The Real Cost of Botched Investigations

Investigation Failure: The Real Cost of Botched Investigations

broken investigations

Why do so many investigations go wrong?

Social media has had a profound effect on how society, government and institutions operate. Though social media may not directly change society’s culture, it will definitely expose it. So when things go wrong and a background investigation is required, rest assured that social media is watching and will hold us accountable.

As a growing number of botched investigations are exposed, investigators need to take a closer look at how investigations are conducted.

As a growing number of botched investigations are exposed, investigators need to take a closer look at how investigations are conducted to avoid investigation failures.

At times, certain complex situations arise, which necessitate an investigative response outside the normal routine of an organization. These could include multiple internal thefts or corruption, serious harassment issues or a serious accident. Extraordinary managerial demands in conducting and coordinating a complex investigation, can place those in charge with its direction in an overwhelming situation—the results oftentimes ending up in a courtroom. Recognized investigative skills and protocols are essential to ensure the accuracy and integrity of the investigative process.

How an investigation is structured and conducted can significantly affect the credibility of the investigation and the organization who sanctioned it. Large or small, an investigation is viewed as an impartial fact-finding process mandated to reveal the truth—a simple concept that that often gets derailed from the start.

There are far too many failed investigations

The alleged sexual crimes of CBC radio-personality Jian Gomeshi are one example where an organization may have been both late to recognize a problem and slow to deliver an appropriate response

Allegations or situations that are reacted upon too quickly, too slowly or are structured inappropriately for the complexity of the task are commonplace.

The alleged sexual crimes of CBC radio-personality Jian Gomeshi are one example where an organization may have been both late to recognize a problem and slow to deliver an appropriate response that protected its employees and the corporation’s integrity. So many questions.

Another example of investigation failure is the BC government’s unfair firing or suspension of 7 health workers for a series of data breaches and inappropriate use of private information. The botched government investigation was the subject of an independent review by by BC labour lawyer, Marcia McNeil, who concluded that the B.C. Government’s investigation was flawed from the outset “embarked upon with a preconceived theory of employee misconduct” which led to a premature conclusion of guilt. The mishandled investigation led to costly union grievances, out-of-court settlements, and tragically, the suicide of a fired co-op placement student.

In another badly handled 2012 investigation into two massive sawmill explosions in Burns Lake and Prince George, BC, the cause was determined by WorkSafeBC to be an accumulation of sawdust within the mill. After the investigation, WorkSafeBC urged the laying of regulatory charges, but the BC Criminal Justice Branch found that WorkSafeBC had conducted its investigation improperly. Investigators hadn’t followed due process in gathering evidence or questioning managers, and as a result Crown could not lay charges. The investigative plan and structure were flawed from the start. The outcome: no person or company is being held accountable for a preventable tragedy that result in 20 injuries and 2 deaths.

Perception and process is everything
A timely and properly conducted investigation is important to the integrity and credibility of any organization. Things go wrong, and when they do, it’s important for leaders to establish proper investigative protocols and do the right thing. One only needs to picture reading about themselves in the media, where their actions and decisions are dissected in a courtroom or other public inquiry. It happens all the time. As with the examples listed above, trust and confidence in any organization can be significantly damaged when an investigation is flawed.

Your organization can avoid investigation failures

Here are some things to consider when faced with a situation that may require an investigation:

What did you know, when did you know, and what did you do about it?
The hard reality is that these questions will be posed to you by your boss, the media or judicial inquiry when a situation blows up in your face; so, it’s best to consider these question in the early stages of any potential investigation.

An investigation should be conducted by someone who has no interest in the outcome.
There should be no interference, political or otherwise and no preconceived notion of the findings.  As potentially disruptive as an investigation can be, it should be prompt, thorough and effective to ensure everyone’s protection. Consider hiring a professional from outside your organization. It may allow people to speak more freely without fear from internal pressures. A proper investigation should be conducted in good faith, confidentially and lead by the evidence it produces.

Information gained must be examined and sources verified. It is difficult and dangerous to reach conclusions based on information from weak sources

Document and verify
One of the most common criticisms of any investigation is the lack of documentation. Every investigation requires a detailed written account of actions taken, statements and decisions made in support of a particular course of action.  There is no other way in which to establish a record of the events. Equally, the importance of corroborating and verifying the facts are critical. Information gained must be examined and sources verified. It is difficult and dangerous to reach conclusions based on information from weak sources where the veracity of information has not been established.

A plan, any plan, is better that no plan
Always organize and establish a plan before starting your probe or investigation. Timing is critical, but don’t panic. Ill-considered responses cause problems and complications that may not be repairable. A thoughtful, proactive approach, taking into account proper investigative standards, will ensure the process is completed accurately, fairly and is consistent with legal principles.

A well-functioning company is prepared for an investigative process. It is often the most simple, straightforward matters that can cause the most grief. Consider using an independent, professional corporate investigator with a strong, verifiable background. An investigation that finds facts and can withstand scrutiny requires a structured approach, careful planning, appropriate resources and skilled investigators.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.