الفشل التحقيق: التكلفة الحقيقية للفاشلة التحقيقات

الفشل التحقيق: التكلفة الحقيقية للفاشلة التحقيقات

broken investigations

لماذا هذا العدد الكبير من التحقيقات غير ما يرام?

تمت زيارتها سائل الاعلام الاجتماعية لها تأثير عميق على كيفية المجتمع, الحكومة والمؤسسات تعمل. على الرغم من وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية قد لا يغير مباشرة ثقافة المجتمع, فإنه سيتم فضح بالتأكيد. لذلك عندما تسير الأشياء بشكل خاطئ و خلفية التحقيق مطلوب, تطمئن إلى أن وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية يراقب وسوف يعقد لنا مساءلة.

كما يتعرض عدد متزايد من التحقيقات الفاشلة, المحققون تحتاج إلى إلقاء نظرة فاحصة على كيفية إجراء التحقيقات.

كما يتعرض عدد متزايد من التحقيقات الفاشلة, المحققون تحتاج إلى إلقاء نظرة فاحصة على كيفية إجراء التحقيقات لتجنب الفشل التحقيق.

أحيانا, الحالات المعقدة معينة تنشأ, التي تتطلب استجابة التحقيق خارج الروتين العادي للمنظمة. ويمكن أن تشمل هذه السرقات الداخلية متعددة أو الفساد, قضايا التحرش خطيرة أو حادث خطير. مطالب إدارية استثنائية في إجراء وتنسيق تحقيقات معقدة, يمكن وضع تلك التهمة مع اتجاهه في حالة ساحقة – النتائج التي تنتهي في كثير من الأحيان في قاعة المحكمة. سلم المهارات التحقيقية والبروتوكولات أمران أساسيان لضمان دقة ونزاهة عملية التحقيق.

كيف منظم وأجرت تحقيق يمكن أن تؤثر تأثيراً كبيرا على مصداقية التحقيق والمنظمة الذي يعاقب عليه. كبيرة أو صغيرة, تحقيق يعتبر عملية تقصي الحقائق محايدة مكلفة للكشف عن الحقيقة – مفهوم بسيط التي غالباً ما يحصل على مساره من البداية.

وهناك عدد كبير جداً من التحقيقات الفاشلة

الجرائم الجنسية المزعومة من سي بي سي راديو-شخصية جيان جوميشي مثال واحد حيث منظمة قد يكون على حد سواء في وقت متأخر للاعتراف بوجود مشكلة وبطيء لتقديم رد مناسب

ادعاءات أو الحالات التي هي ردت عليها بسرعة كبيرة جداً, ببطء شديد أو مهيكلة بشكل غير لائق لتعقيد المهمة هي شائعة.

الجرائم الجنسية للCBC الراديوية شخصية جيان Gomeshi المزعومة هي مثال واحد حيث منظمة قد يكون على حد سواء في وقت متأخر إلى التعرف على المشكلة و بطيئة لتقديم استجابة مناسبة التي تحمي موظفيها وسلامة المؤسسة. هكذا العديد من الأسئلة.

مثال آخر على فشل التحقيق اطلاق الحكومة قبل الميلاد في غير عادلة أو تعليق 7 استخدام العاملين الصحيين لسلسلة من خروقات البيانات وغير ملائم للمعلومات الخاصة. وكان التحقيق الحكومة فاشلة موضوع استعراض مستقل من قبل المحامي العمل قبل الميلاد, مارسيا ماكنيل, منظمة الصحة العالمية وخلصت قبل الميلاد. التحقيق الذي أجرته الحكومة كانت خاطئة ومنذ البداية “شرعت مع نظرية مسبقة لسوء سلوك الموظف” مما أدى إلى استنتاج سابق لأوانه للشعور بالذنب. وادي التحقيق أساءوا إلى مظالم الاتحاد المكلفة, تسويات, ومن المفجع, انتحار طالب التنسيب التعاونية تطلق.

في آخر التعامل معها بشكل سيء 2012 التحقيق في انفجارين المنشرة ضخمة في بحيرة بيرنز والأمير جورج, قبل الميلاد, تم تحديد سبب من WorkSafeBC أن يكون تراكم من نشارة الخشب داخل طاحونة. بعد التحقيق, وحث WorkSafeBC زرع الرسوم التنظيمية, ولكن فرع العدالة الجنائية قبل الميلاد وجدت أن WorkSafeBC كان أجرت تحقيقاتها بشكل غير صحيح. لم تتبع المحققون الإجراءات القانونية الواجبة في جمع الأدلة أو استجواب مدراء, ونتيجة لولي العهد لا يمكن وضع رسوم. كانت معيبة خطة التحقيق وهيكل من البداية. نتائج: تعقد أي شخص أو شركة محاسبة لمأساة يمكن تفاديها التي تؤدي إلى 20 الإصابات و 2 وفيات.

الإدراك وعملية هو كل شيء
والتحقيق في الوقت المناسب وأجريت بشكل صحيح مهم لسلامة ومصداقية أي منظمة. سارت الأمور على نحو خاطئ, وعندما يفعلون, من المهم لقادة لإنشاء بروتوكولات التحقيق الملائمة وفعل الشيء الصحيح. يحتاج المرء فقط إلى صورة القراءة عن أنفسهم في وسائل الإعلام, حيث يتم تشريح أفعالهم وقراراتهم في قاعة المحكمة أو غيرها من تحقيق علني. وهو يحدث في كل وقت. كما هو الحال مع الأمثلة المذكورة أعلاه, الثقة والثقة في أي منظمة يمكن أن تتلف بشكل ملحوظ عند معيبة التحقيق.

مؤسستك يمكن تجنب الفشل التحقيق

وهنا بعض الأشياء في الاعتبار عندما تواجه وضعا التي قد تتطلب تحقيقا:

ماذا تعرف, عندما هل تعلم, وماذا فعلت حيال ذلك?
الواقع الثابت أن هذه الأسئلة سوف يتم طرحها لك رئيسك, وسائل الإعلام أو التحقيق القضائي عندما يفجر وضع في وجهك; هكذا, أنها ’ s أفضل للنظر في هذه السؤال في المراحل الأولى لأي تحقيق محتمل.

وينبغي إجراء تحقيق من قبل شخص لا مصلحة لها في نتائج.
وينبغي أن يكون هناك أي تدخل, مفهوم سياسي أو خلاف ذلك ولا مسبقة للنتائج. As potentially disruptive as an investigation can be, ينبغي أن تكون سريعة, شاملة وفعالة لضمان حماية الجميع. النظر في التعاقد مع محترف من خارج مؤسستك. قد تسمح للناس التحدث بحرية أكثر دون خوف من الضغوط الداخلية. ينبغي إجراء تحقيق مناسب بحسن نية, بصفة سرية، وتؤدي من قبل الأدلة التي تنتج.

يجب فحص المعلومات المكتسبة ومصادر التحقق. فمن الصعب والخطير للتوصل إلى استنتاجات بناء على معلومات من مصادر ضعيفة

وثيقة والتحقق
واحدة من الانتقادات الأكثر شيوعاً من أي تحقيق هو عدم وجود وثائق. ويتطلب كل تحقيق كتابي مفصل للإجراءات المتخذة, البيانات والقرارات التي اتخذت دعما لمسار معين للعمل. There is no other way in which to establish a record of the events. بالتساوي, أهمية المساندة والتحقق من الوقائع الحرجة. يجب فحص المعلومات المكتسبة ومصادر التحقق. فمن الصعب والخطير للتوصل إلى استنتاجات بناء على معلومات من مصادر ضعيفة حيث لم يثبت صحة المعلومات.

خطة, أي خطة, أفضل أن لا خطة
تنظيم دائما ووضع خطة قبل البدء التحقيق أو التحقيق. توقيت حرج, ولكن لا داعي للذعر. ردود يعتبر سوء تسبب المشاكل والمضاعفات التي قد لا يمكن اصلاحها. ومدروس, نهج استباقي, مع مراعاة المعايير التحقيق الملائمة, ستضمن عملية اكتمال بدقة, إلى حد ما ويتسق مع المبادئ القانونية.

ويتم إعداد شركة تعمل بشكل جيد لعملية التحقيق. وغالبا ما يكون أبسط, الأمور واضحة التي يمكن أن تتسبب في معظم الحزن. النظر في استخدام مستقلة, محترف محقق الشركات مع قوي, الخلفية يمكن التحقق منها. التحقيق أن يجد الحقائق و يمكن أن تصمد أمام التمحيص يتطلب اتباع نهج منظم, التخطيط الدقيق, الموارد المناسبة والمحققين المهرة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بات فوغارتي هو محقق الجريمة المنظمة السابق تقود الآن البحث في الإنترنت والتحقيقات في مجموعة أبحاث القامة. قرأ <ل href="http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?depth=1&hl=en&prev=search&rurl=translate.google.co.uk&sl=ar&u=http://www.fathomresearchgroup.com/about/our-team/?lang=ar&usg=ALkJrhhOGznMVuL29bcRKlgdja-oo8lyBQ">more حول بات .

Investigation Failure: The Real Cost of Botched Investigations

Investigation Failure: The Real Cost of Botched Investigations

broken investigations

Why do so many investigations go wrong?

Social media has had a profound effect on how society, government and institutions operate. Though social media may not directly change society’s culture, it will definitely expose it. So when things go wrong and a background investigation is required, rest assured that social media is watching and will hold us accountable.

As a growing number of botched investigations are exposed, investigators need to take a closer look at how investigations are conducted.

As a growing number of botched investigations are exposed, investigators need to take a closer look at how investigations are conducted to avoid investigation failures.

At times, certain complex situations arise, which necessitate an investigative response outside the normal routine of an organization. These could include multiple internal thefts or corruption, serious harassment issues or a serious accident. Extraordinary managerial demands in conducting and coordinating a complex investigation, can place those in charge with its direction in an overwhelming situation—the results oftentimes ending up in a courtroom. Recognized investigative skills and protocols are essential to ensure the accuracy and integrity of the investigative process.

How an investigation is structured and conducted can significantly affect the credibility of the investigation and the organization who sanctioned it. Large or small, an investigation is viewed as an impartial fact-finding process mandated to reveal the truth—a simple concept that that often gets derailed from the start.

There are far too many failed investigations

The alleged sexual crimes of CBC radio-personality Jian Gomeshi are one example where an organization may have been both late to recognize a problem and slow to deliver an appropriate response

Allegations or situations that are reacted upon too quickly, too slowly or are structured inappropriately for the complexity of the task are commonplace.

The alleged sexual crimes of CBC radio-personality Jian Gomeshi are one example where an organization may have been both late to recognize a problem and slow to deliver an appropriate response that protected its employees and the corporation’s integrity. So many questions.

Another example of investigation failure is the BC government’s unfair firing or suspension of 7 health workers for a series of data breaches and inappropriate use of private information. The botched government investigation was the subject of an independent review by by BC labour lawyer, Marcia McNeil, who concluded that the B.C. Government’s investigation was flawed from the outset “embarked upon with a preconceived theory of employee misconduct” which led to a premature conclusion of guilt. The mishandled investigation led to costly union grievances, out-of-court settlements, and tragically, the suicide of a fired co-op placement student.

In another badly handled 2012 investigation into two massive sawmill explosions in Burns Lake and Prince George, BC, the cause was determined by WorkSafeBC to be an accumulation of sawdust within the mill. After the investigation, WorkSafeBC urged the laying of regulatory charges, but the BC Criminal Justice Branch found that WorkSafeBC had conducted its investigation improperly. Investigators hadn’t followed due process in gathering evidence or questioning managers, and as a result Crown could not lay charges. The investigative plan and structure were flawed from the start. The outcome: no person or company is being held accountable for a preventable tragedy that result in 20 injuries and 2 deaths.

Perception and process is everything
A timely and properly conducted investigation is important to the integrity and credibility of any organization. Things go wrong, and when they do, it’s important for leaders to establish proper investigative protocols and do the right thing. One only needs to picture reading about themselves in the media, where their actions and decisions are dissected in a courtroom or other public inquiry. It happens all the time. As with the examples listed above, trust and confidence in any organization can be significantly damaged when an investigation is flawed.

Your organization can avoid investigation failures

Here are some things to consider when faced with a situation that may require an investigation:

What did you know, when did you know, and what did you do about it?
The hard reality is that these questions will be posed to you by your boss, the media or judicial inquiry when a situation blows up in your face; so, it’s best to consider these question in the early stages of any potential investigation.

An investigation should be conducted by someone who has no interest in the outcome.
There should be no interference, political or otherwise and no preconceived notion of the findings.  As potentially disruptive as an investigation can be, it should be prompt, thorough and effective to ensure everyone’s protection. Consider hiring a professional from outside your organization. It may allow people to speak more freely without fear from internal pressures. A proper investigation should be conducted in good faith, confidentially and lead by the evidence it produces.

Information gained must be examined and sources verified. It is difficult and dangerous to reach conclusions based on information from weak sources

Document and verify
One of the most common criticisms of any investigation is the lack of documentation. Every investigation requires a detailed written account of actions taken, statements and decisions made in support of a particular course of action.  There is no other way in which to establish a record of the events. Equally, the importance of corroborating and verifying the facts are critical. Information gained must be examined and sources verified. It is difficult and dangerous to reach conclusions based on information from weak sources where the veracity of information has not been established.

A plan, any plan, is better that no plan
Always organize and establish a plan before starting your probe or investigation. Timing is critical, but don’t panic. Ill-considered responses cause problems and complications that may not be repairable. A thoughtful, proactive approach, taking into account proper investigative standards, will ensure the process is completed accurately, fairly and is consistent with legal principles.

A well-functioning company is prepared for an investigative process. It is often the most simple, straightforward matters that can cause the most grief. Consider using an independent, professional corporate investigator with a strong, verifiable background. An investigation that finds facts and can withstand scrutiny requires a structured approach, careful planning, appropriate resources and skilled investigators.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.