التحقيق والتفكير النقدي

التحقيق والتفكير النقدي

Investigation and critical thinkingكيف يتمحور تحقيق ووظائف يمكن أن تؤثر تأثيراً كبيرا على مصداقيتها والمنظمة الذي يعاقب عليه. كبيرة أو صغيرة, ل تحقيق تعتبر عملية تقصي الحقائق محايدة مكلفة للكشف عن الحقيقة – مفهوم بسيط التي غالباً ما يحصل على مساره من البداية. وهناك العديد من التحقيقات التي فشلت، واجتمع مع الانتقادات العامة. ادعاءات وحالات كانت أما ردت عليها بسرعة كبيرة جداً, ببطء شديد, ليس على الإطلاق أو تنظيماً غير لائق للطابع المعقد لهذه المهمة في متناول اليد.

لذا لماذا القيام بالتحقيقات تفشل? العالم يتغير بسرعة وكل شخص, المنظمة والمحقق يحتاج لفهم وتطوير مهارات التفكير النقدي.

كبشر, ولدينا القدرة على عملية التفكير المنطقي وغير المنطقي على حد سواء. ونحن على الحيوان الوحيد الذي يفسر المعلومات مع الفكر واعية, صياغة معنى, أفكار, المفاهيم, نماذج ونظريات لشرح, التنبؤ, عنصر التحكم, ومن خلال المعلومات التي تبين أهمية التدقيق. كما أن لدينا القدرة العقلية لينفي, تتعارض, خداع, أخطأ, تشويه, فئة فرعية, نموذج الأحكام المسبقة والتصورات الضيقة. وقد فاتني شيء?

بدء من الفرضية القائلة بأن لا أحد أعمال موضوعية وعقلانية بحتة. أننا تغاضينا عن المصلحة الأنانية. نحن القيل والقال, تباهى, المبالغة, والمراوغة. ونحن نقبل جماعياً (ولعل عذر) هذا السلوك مع البديهية مثل “فقط الإنسان”.

التفكير النقدي يتم إجراء تحليل موضوعي لمشكلة استناداً إلى التفكير العقلاني, الوعي الذاتي, الصدق, الانفتاح وتوعية بهشاشة (وخطر) الأحكام الخاصة بنا

فما هو حاسم التفكير? قد يكون أفضل وصف بأنه شكل من أشكال التفكير منضبطة – تحليل موضوعي لمشكلة استناداً إلى التفكير العقلاني, الوعي الذاتي, الصدق, الانفتاح وتوعية بهشاشة (وخطر) الأحكام الخاصة بنا. لأن التحقيقات غالباً ما يعتمدون على الملاحظة, الترجمة الشفوية وحكم البشر, ولدينا استعداد أكبر لمفاهيم مسبقة أو تحيز التأكيد في الأدلة المقدمة.

التفكير النقدي في التحقيق الأسمى – وفعالة – وفي هذا فإنه يتجنب المخاطر الشائعة. فهو يمنع خصم الأدلة التي ديسكونفيرمس أفكارك; ينشر ضيق الأفق الذي يجعلك ترى إلا جانب واحد فقط من المسألة; يمنع المنطق من العاطفة بدلاً من منطق; و, ضمانات ضد تبني التخمين الذي لا تدعمه الأدلة.

الناضجة الفرق التي ذاتية التنظيم والموجه ذاتيا, وعادة ما أعتقد حاسمة. فريقا لتحقيق فعال يمكن أن يكون فعالاً إلا إذا كانوا يعتقدون حاسمة, و, مع الوعي بأنه حتى أنها ليست محصنة من الفخاخ الفكر لقد وصف. محقق تفكير النقدي وتفهم الطبيعة البشرية و طبيعتها الخاصة, وهكذا يستخدم الحذر, تقييم حاسمة أفكارهم الخاصة, واستخدام أفكار جديدة حتى لا يؤدي إلى تطبيق نفس القوالب لمشاكل مختلفة. محقق ذوي خبرة والتجارب ويجد طرق جديدة وأفضل للعائد غير منحازة, النتائج الوقائعية.

وهناك العديد من أنواع مختلفة من التحقيقات مثل مكان العمل, مجرم, التنظيمية, المدنية وهلم جرا. متنوعة مثل أنها قد تبدو, التحقيقات لديها قواسم مشتركة للبروتوكول الهيكل والعملية. تجري تحقيقا في مستوى أن يقاوم تدقيق يتطلب اتباع نهج منظم, الموارد المناسبة والمحققين المهرة. ما الذي يجعل أحد المحققين مهرة المهرة, وترد إلى حد كبير في قدرته على التفكير نقديا. وسيكون التحدي الانتقادات الموجهة لأي تحقيق نتائجه أو منهجيته. إذا كان لا يجوز الطعن في نتائج, قد يكون هناك محاولة للتشكيك في التحقيق وفي مجملها. أهمية القيام تحقيقا جيدا, مع تركيز على الدقة والموضوعية وعلى شاشة عرض أرتيكولابل للتفكير النقدي يجعل أي نزاع أمام محكم, محكمة, وسائل الإعلام أو الجمهور طعنوا جداً.

الكلمات

نبذة عن الكاتب

بات فوغارتي هو محقق الجريمة المنظمة السابق تقود الآن البحث في الإنترنت والتحقيقات في مجموعة أبحاث القامة. قرأ <ل href="http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?depth=1&hl=en&prev=search&rurl=translate.google.co.uk&sl=ar&u=http://www.fathomresearchgroup.com/about/our-team/?lang=ar&usg=ALkJrhhOGznMVuL29bcRKlgdja-oo8lyBQ">more حول بات .

Investigation and Critical Thinking

Investigation and Critical Thinking

Investigation and critical thinkingHow an investigation is structured and functions can significantly affect its credibility and the organization who sanctioned it. Large or small, an investigation is viewed as an impartial fact-finding process mandated to reveal the truth—a simple concept that often gets derailed from the start. There are many investigations that have failed and met with public criticism. Allegations and situations were either reacted upon too quickly, too slowly, not at all or structured inappropriately for the complexity of the task at hand.

So why do investigations fail? The world is changing rapidly and every person, organization and investigator needs to understand and develop the skill of critical thinking.

As humans, we have the ability to process thought both logical and illogical. We are the only animal that interprets information with conscious thought, formulating meaning, ideas, concepts, models and theories to explain, predict, control, and sift through information to discern relevance. We also have the mental capacity to negate, contradict, deceive, misconceive, distort, stereotype, form prejudices and narrow-minded perceptions. Have I missed anything?

Start from the premise that no one acts purely objectively and rationally. We connive for selfish interest. We gossip, boast, exaggerate, and equivocate. We collectively accept (and perhaps excuse) this behaviour with truisms like “It is only human”.

Critical thinking is an objective analysis of a problem based on rational thought, self-awareness, honesty, open-mindedness and an awareness of the frailty (and danger) of our own judgements

So what is critical thinking? It may be best described as a form of disciplined thinking – an objective analysis of a problem based on rational thought, self-awareness, honesty, open-mindedness and an awareness of the frailty (and danger) of our own judgments. Because investigations often rely on the observation, interpretation and judgment of humans, we have a greater predisposition for preconceived notions or confirmation bias in the evidence presented.

Critical thinking in investigation is paramount – and effective – in that it avoids common pitfalls. It prevents the discounting of evidence that disconfirms your ideas; diffuses narrow-mindedness that makes you otherwise see only one side of an issue; prevents reasoning from passion rather than logic; and, safeguards against embracing conjecture that is not supported by evidence.

Mature teams that are self organized and self-directed, usually think critically. An effective investigative team can only be effective if they think critically, and, with awareness that even they aren’t immune to the thought traps I’ve described. A critical thinking investigator understands human nature and their own nature, and so uses caution, critically assessing their own thoughts, and using novel ideas so as not to apply the same templates to different problems. An experienced investigator experiments and finds new and better ways to yield an unbiased, factual result.

There are many different kinds of investigations such as workplace, criminal, regulatory, civil and so on. As diverse as they may seem, investigations have commonalities of structure protocol and process. Conducting an investigation to a standard that withstands scrutiny requires a structured approach, appropriate resources and skilled investigators. What makes a skilled investigator skilled, will largely be found in his/her ability to think critically. The criticism of any investigation will challenge either its results or its methodology. If the findings cannot be challenged, there may be an attempt to discredit the investigation and in its entirety. The importance of doing an investigation well, with a focus on thoroughness and objectivity and an articulable display of critical thinking makes any dispute before an adjudicator, a court, the media or public very defendable.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.