调查和批判性思维

调查和批判性思维

Investigation and critical thinking如何调查的结构和功能可以显著影响其信誉和组织认可它的人. 或大或小, 一个 调查 被视为公正的实况调查程序受权揭示真相 — — 一个简单的概念,从一开始经常获取出轨. 有很多的调查,有失败和会见了公众的批评. 指控和情况也反应后太快, 太慢, 在所有或结构不当为手头的任务的复杂性.

调查为何不做? 世界正在迅速变化和每一个人, 理解和发展批判性思维技能所需要的组织和调查员.

作为人类, 我们有能力处理逻辑和不合逻辑的思想. 我们是唯一的动物,解释信息与有意识的思考, 制定的意义, 想法, 概念, 模型和理论来解释, 预测, 控制, 和筛选信息,以辨别相关性. 我们也有否定的心理能力, 矛盾, 欺骗, 衣食住行后, 扭曲, 刻板印象, 形式的偏见和狭隘的认识. 我错过什么了吗?

从没有人行为纯粹客观、 理性的前提开始. 我们的自私利益纵容. 我们八卦, 夸, 夸大, 和支支吾吾. 我们集体接受 (也许容许) 这种行为像一些自明之理 “它只是人类”.

批判性思维 是客观地分析问题的基础的理性思考, 自我意识, 诚信为本, 开放的思想以及对脆弱的认识 (和危险) 我们自己的判断

那么什么是关键思维? 它可能是思维的最好被描述为一种纪律形式 – 客观地分析问题的基础的理性思考, 自我意识, 诚信为本, 开放的思想以及对脆弱的认识 (和危险) 我们自己的判断. 因为调查往往依赖于观察, 解释和判断人类, 我们有先入为主的观念或确认偏误的更倾向提出的证据.

在调查中的批判性思维是最重要的 — — 和有效 – 因为它避免了常见的陷阱. 它可以防止贴现会你的想法的证据; 扩散是你否则看到的问题只有一侧的狭隘; 防止从激情,而不是逻辑的推理; 和, 保障措施,防止拥抱猜想是不支持的证据.

成熟是自我的团队组织和自编自导自演, 通常进行批判性思考. 有效的调查团队只能是有效的如果他们批判性的思考, 和, 有了认识,即使他们不能幸免于我描述过的思维陷阱. 批判性思维调查员了解人的本性 自己的本性, 和这么使用谨慎, 批判性评价他们自己的想法, 和使用新奇的想法,以免将相同的模板应用于不同的问题. 经验丰富的调查员实验和找到新的和更好的方法产生一个没有偏见, 实际运行结果.

有许多不同种类的工作场所的调查, 刑事, 监管, 民用等. 由于不同的,因为他们似乎, 调查有其共性的协议结构和过程. 进行调查,以一个标准,可承受的审查需要一个结构化的方法, 适当的资源和​​熟练的调查. 是什么让一名熟练的调查员熟练, 很大程度上将会发现在批判性思考的能力. 任何调查的批判会挑战其结果或其方法论. 如果不能挑战的结果, 有可能是试图抹黑调查其整. 做一个调查以及重要性, 重点放在彻底性和客观性与批判性思维的有力显示使任何争端提交审, 法院, 媒体或公众非常防御.

标签

关于作者

Pat Fogarty 是现在领先的互联网研究和调查在前的有组织犯罪调查员 噚研究小组. 阅读 更多关于帕特.

Investigation and Critical Thinking

Investigation and Critical Thinking

Investigation and critical thinkingHow an investigation is structured and functions can significantly affect its credibility and the organization who sanctioned it. Large or small, an investigation is viewed as an impartial fact-finding process mandated to reveal the truth—a simple concept that often gets derailed from the start. There are many investigations that have failed and met with public criticism. Allegations and situations were either reacted upon too quickly, too slowly, not at all or structured inappropriately for the complexity of the task at hand.

So why do investigations fail? The world is changing rapidly and every person, organization and investigator needs to understand and develop the skill of critical thinking.

As humans, we have the ability to process thought both logical and illogical. We are the only animal that interprets information with conscious thought, formulating meaning, ideas, concepts, models and theories to explain, predict, control, and sift through information to discern relevance. We also have the mental capacity to negate, contradict, deceive, misconceive, distort, stereotype, form prejudices and narrow-minded perceptions. Have I missed anything?

Start from the premise that no one acts purely objectively and rationally. We connive for selfish interest. We gossip, boast, exaggerate, and equivocate. We collectively accept (and perhaps excuse) this behaviour with truisms like “It is only human”.

Critical thinking is an objective analysis of a problem based on rational thought, self-awareness, honesty, open-mindedness and an awareness of the frailty (and danger) of our own judgements

So what is critical thinking? It may be best described as a form of disciplined thinking – an objective analysis of a problem based on rational thought, self-awareness, honesty, open-mindedness and an awareness of the frailty (and danger) of our own judgments. Because investigations often rely on the observation, interpretation and judgment of humans, we have a greater predisposition for preconceived notions or confirmation bias in the evidence presented.

Critical thinking in investigation is paramount – and effective – in that it avoids common pitfalls. It prevents the discounting of evidence that disconfirms your ideas; diffuses narrow-mindedness that makes you otherwise see only one side of an issue; prevents reasoning from passion rather than logic; and, safeguards against embracing conjecture that is not supported by evidence.

Mature teams that are self organized and self-directed, usually think critically. An effective investigative team can only be effective if they think critically, and, with awareness that even they aren’t immune to the thought traps I’ve described. A critical thinking investigator understands human nature and their own nature, and so uses caution, critically assessing their own thoughts, and using novel ideas so as not to apply the same templates to different problems. An experienced investigator experiments and finds new and better ways to yield an unbiased, factual result.

There are many different kinds of investigations such as workplace, criminal, regulatory, civil and so on. As diverse as they may seem, investigations have commonalities of structure protocol and process. Conducting an investigation to a standard that withstands scrutiny requires a structured approach, appropriate resources and skilled investigators. What makes a skilled investigator skilled, will largely be found in his/her ability to think critically. The criticism of any investigation will challenge either its results or its methodology. If the findings cannot be challenged, there may be an attempt to discredit the investigation and in its entirety. The importance of doing an investigation well, with a focus on thoroughness and objectivity and an articulable display of critical thinking makes any dispute before an adjudicator, a court, the media or public very defendable.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.