土生土长的恐怖主义和强盗:
认识的相似之处

土生土长的恐怖主义和强盗:
认识的相似之处

Canada's parliament building
我们在魁北克和国会山的士兵最近和悲惨的死亡毫无意义的我们中的大多数. 难道我们在保护我们最脆弱的已经足够警惕? 在试图了解, 我画我的青春团伙招募和激进消息的增长之间一些比较.

歹徒和恐怖分子提供 “家庭”

刚招聘人员出示该团伙的社交受害者 “社区” 和 “家庭”

历史, 帮派都集中招聘工作在街头, 学校, 和意图社交受害者提出作为岗监狱”社区” 和 “家庭”. 通常, 一伙将目标在危机中的青年, disenfranchised or alienated from society. 该 “社会化” 和 “社区” 媲美传统家庭和社会的身份与目的提供新的帮派成员 ’ s 支持基础设施.

我们回来然后学到一些教训,并开始将我们的努力集中在预防, 教育和干预. 我们发现,如果我们能够理解的警示标志,什么触发我们的青年加入帮派, 我们将在一个更好的位置介入. 我们所拥有的问题,共同努力来解决它. 刚认识战略现在已是司空见惯整个北美.

…这些人都坐在鸭非法, 非法或恐怖组织

通过互联网,尤其是社交媒体平台提供的功能和机会已经改变了许多合法和非法活动, 增广高速, 方便和范围与这些活动可以进行. 歹徒有同样利用了这些机会与其他人谁在世界各地关注自己的激进消息对弱势群体.

不幸, 有很多弱势群体在社会中, 无论男女老幼, 没有批判性思维能力,以正确评估这些激进的消息. 这些人都坐在鸭非法, 非法或恐怖团体谁可以从一台计算机在世界任何地方向他们收件人发送成千上万的短信.

恐怖分子, 或精神病人易受恐怖主义意识形态?

从我读上国会山的事件, 看来,个人负责的 Cpl 谋杀. 弥敦道 Cirillo 是深感不安和不初步鉴定为严重威胁. 这真的是一场恐怖袭击或只是一个人有严重的心理问题,遭到系统吗? Hypothetically, 以及在射击的时候, had he shouted out “耶稣基督的名” 他仍然会是恐怖分子吗? 这不是借口为这种行为,但对社会的思考 ’ s 弱点在防止未来攻击从精神失常的人.

互联网包含深和黑暗的地方,可以反映很多坏和邪恶的存在在这个世界上. 我们现在面临可以打击敌人 “几乎”, 一些我们脆弱的公民转换到自己的事业,无论他们在哪里.

我们如何打击极端主义?

我们已经知道随着时间的推移打击的增长 “强盗” 是不是学校的专属责任, 警方或家人, 但社会. 社交媒体可能有复杂的问题, 但作为一个社区, 我们仍然拥有它.

我们必须把我们最弱势的公民谁更容易受到恐怖分子的疏导策略护理

国家安全已成为 “大票” 今天的项目,并在可预见的将来,我可以向你保证,执法部门无法单独解决这个问题. 作为部分 “沉默的大多数” 在这一个, 不会帮助.

那么到底, 我们需要拥有共同的问题.

会有那些谁愿意宣扬仇恨和教极端主义意识形态为我们的公民. 作为一个社会, 我们要教育年轻人和老年人有关的可疑行为的警告标志,挑战我们的机构, 私营部门, 和政府整合支持服务和干预方案. 我们还必须更加勤奋, 更多的了解我们周围的环境, 并把我们最弱势的公民谁更容易受到恐怖分子的疏导策略护理. 记者了解到,忽视问题, 任由别人来解决是行不通的. 统, 我们已经讨论了其他复杂的社会问题…我们将再次这样做.

关于作者

Pat Fogarty 是现在领先的互联网研究和调查在前的有组织犯罪调查员 噚研究小组. 阅读 更多关于帕特.

Homegrown Terrorism and Gangsterism:
Recognizing the Parallels

Homegrown Terrorism and Gangsterism:
Recognizing the Parallels

Canada's parliament building
The recent and tragic deaths of our soldiers in Quebec and on Parliament Hill make little sense to most of us. Have we been vigilant enough in protecting our most vulnerable? In an attempt to understand, I draw some comparisons between gang recruitment of our youth and the growth of radical messaging.

Gangsters and terrorists provide a “family”

Gang recruiters socialize their victims by presenting the gang as the “community” and “family”

Historically, gangs have focused their recruitment efforts in the streets, schools, and prisons with the intent to socialize their victims by presenting the gang as the”community” and “family”. Typically, a gang would target youth in crisis, disenfranchised or alienated from society.  The “socialization” and “community” provided the new gang member with purpose and identity that rivaled conventional family and society’s supportive infrastructure.

We learned some hard lessons back then and began to focus our efforts on prevention, education and intervention. We found that if we could understand the warning signs and what triggers our youth to join a gang, we would be in a much better position to intervene. We owned the problem and worked together to solve it. Gang awareness strategies are now commonplace throughout North America.

…these people are sitting ducks for illicit, illegal or terrorist groups

The capabilities and opportunities provided by the Internet and in particular social media platforms have transformed many legitimate and illegal activities, augmenting speed, ease and range with which these activities may be conducted. Gangsters have equally capitalized on these opportunities along with others who focus their radicalized messaging towards vulnerable people throughout the world.

Unfortunately, there are many vulnerable people in society, both young and old, that do not have the critical thinking skills to properly assess these radicalized messages. These people are sitting ducks for illicit, illegal or terrorist groups who can send thousands of messages to their recipients from a computer anywhere in the world.

Terrorist, or mentally ill man vulnerable to terrorist ideology?

From my reading of the events on Parliament Hill, it appears that the individual responsible for the murder of Cpl. Nathan Cirillo was deeply troubled and not initially identified as a serious threat. Was this really a terrorist attack or simply a person with severe mental problems that was rejected by the system?  Hypothetically, and at the time of the shooting, had he shouted out  “in the name of Jesus Christ” would he still be a terrorist? This is by no means an excuse for this behaviour but a reflection on society’s weaknesses in preventing future attacks from mentally disturbed people.

The Internet contains deep and dark places that can reflect much of the bad and evil that exists within this world. We are now facing an enemy that can strike “virtually”, converting some of our vulnerable citizens to their cause wherever they may be.

How do we combat radicalization?

We’ve learned over time that combatting the growth of “gangsterism” is not the exclusive responsibility of the school, police or family, but that of society. Social media may have complicated the problem, but as a community, we still own it.

We must take care of our most vulnerable citizens who are more susceptible to the grooming tactics of terrorists

National security has become a “big ticket” item today and for the foreseeable future and I can assure you that law enforcement cannot combat this problem alone. Being part of the “silent majority” on this one, won’t help.

So in the end, we need to own the problem collectively.

There will be those who wish to preach hatred and teach extremist ideologies to our citizens. As a society, we need to educate young and old about the warning signs of suspicious behaviour and challenge our institutions, private sector, and government to integrate support services and intervention programs. We must also become more diligent, more aware of our surroundings, and take care of our most vulnerable citizens who are more susceptible to the grooming tactics of terrorists. Understand that ignoring the problem, leaving it for someone else to solve won’t work. Collectively, we’ve addressed other complex social issues…we’ll do it again.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.