谷歌的在线研究限制

谷歌的在线研究限制

Limitations of search engines for online research

搜索引擎划伤可用数据的表面

万维网使用由 40 百分比的世界 ’ s 人口和 77 %的发达世界新闻, 娱乐, 通信和无数其他用途. 即使更多的人使用 Google 的搜索, 我们发现较少的数据,’ s 可用. 原因......传统的搜索引擎只能提供了可用信息在我们的查询响应中的冰山一角…少得可怜 3 %…和它正在恶化.

谷歌已经成为事实上的研究工具,对于很多人,但可能不足以依赖于各怀.

技术是不断变化的,从 “箱” 电视到等离子, LCD和LED. 一个手机已经成为电脑, 我们来到他们期待更多. 我们的家看起来比他们做不同的 10 年前,在网点和多屏充电器. 虽然物理介质和通信技术是复杂和不断完善, 在线数据很大程度上不登大雅之堂 — — 大杂烩搜索结果与经常可疑的相关性和准确性.

当你用谷歌搜索的东西, 你看的数据所在的位置或谁拥有它? 做你看过的东西一天, 然后,看看它几天后和找不到它? 当数据就会消失, 它去哪儿了? 你怎么看待搜索之前的数据在哪里?

谷歌的结果在世界范围内会发生变化

如果你搜索一些关于 Google 从英国, 你可能会得到完全不同的结果集比,如果你从温哥华犯了同样的搜索查询. 结果可从英国变化以至于顶结果. 可能页 10 如果你的搜索查询是从温哥华举办.

谷歌是赚钱的生意. 结果是混合的位置, 浏览历史记录和企业争取排名.

页面 1 结果不一定更相关

有关排名的一些事实:

  • #1 在谷歌搜索得到 32% 所有的点击.
  • #2 在谷歌搜索得到 17% 所有的点击.
  • #3 在谷歌搜索得到 11% 所有的点击.

谷歌的算法依赖于多 200 独特的信号或 “线索” 这使到有可能 猜猜 你真的在寻找什么从谷歌 ’ s 内部搜索.

92 出的每个 100 在网上搜索的人不要单击过去的谷歌搜索结果的第一页. 是第一页数据 有关? 别. 第一页结果到那里通过衡量一个网站的以编程方式应用规则组合 ’ s 相关性 (谷歌的算法), 在线营销策略像搜索引擎的优化, 网络营销 (经常被用来作为技术在提高排名,希望谷歌操纵的结果), 和好运气.

一套编程规则排序的数据永远不能作为可靠的资料审查作为一个人能. 搜索者或研究者依赖于经验, 仔细考虑的判断, 该研究课题的知识, 和上下文. 我们知道正是我们正在寻找. 我们明白我们的意图; 谷歌是唯一 揣测.

那么,是什么这一切告诉我们?

今天使用谷歌在互联网上搜索就像跨在海洋的表面拖动一张网

谷歌, 必应和其他流行的搜索引擎是非常有用的和容易找到在网上交一些数据; 然而, 如果你正在寻找相关的个人或企业所特有的东西, 一些零碎有用的信息依赖于人类的判断来辨别它的价值, 或在典型的在线渠道不广泛发表了点东西, 你如何能依赖结果经由一台机器? 你不能.

这一事实是, 谷歌, 大多数考虑的答案的资源 所有问题, 拥有真正的限制. 你不能用锤子钻一个洞, 你可以不看一页,甚至上百个由谷歌返回的结果,并假设你会发现你正在寻找什么. 你会找到答案, 但你会找到正确的答案?

搜索引擎只是浅尝辄止

作为一个只是冰山的尖端可见观察员, 所以是一个典型的谷歌搜索能看见非​​常少量的这可用信息. 迈克·伯格曼, 创始人 明亮的行星 表示, “今天使用谷歌在互联网上搜索就像跨在海洋的表面拖动一张网: 大量可能被卡在网, 但有一个丰富的信息,深,因此错过”.

拖着网在地表以下

对其余的信息是埋在什么所谓的 深网. 深网, 由未编入索引,因此不能位于由传统的搜索引擎的数据. 这是很难知道如何大深幅是但至少数百或数千次比表面幅较大. 深网并不一定隐藏数据, 这只是传统的搜索引擎技术已经很难找到,并使得它的意义.

深网的沉船宝藏

传统搜索引擎无法检查深网代表访问海量的现有质量非常高,网上信息的一个重要空白. 许多这些内部的网页有外部链接, 包含博客, 文件目录, 技术期刊, 专业论文, 照片和数据和信息,搜索引擎无法找到无尽的金额.

以举例的方式, 大多数报纸都有自己的网站. 有时, 搜索引擎会捕捉一些是受欢迎的文章. 但是对于比较晦涩的文章,你将不得不直接到报社的网站和搜索内容. 即使与流行的新闻故事, 他们成为老, 就越不可能是他们会经由搜索查询.

在谷歌上不要放弃, 只是不依赖于它

Google is arguably the world’s largest search engine. Understanding that your Google search will provide you results that contain only a small portion of the information available on the Internet.

如果有个人, 您或您的组织的财务或法律风险, 请考虑使用受过专业培训的调查员懂得如何挖掘 web一种进行 真正的在线调查 不要走马观花背景调查. 我们的团队已经收录了深网内举行众多数据库, 开源, 政府和专有网站是至关重要的资源,我们的网上调查.

再加上我们的分析/调查方法, 我们可以连接点,并确定信息的真实性 个人背景调查, 法律调查, 企业的尽职调查专门研究.

关于作者

Pat Fogarty 是现在领先的互联网研究和调查在前的有组织犯罪调查员 噚研究小组. 阅读 更多关于帕特.

Limitations of Google for Online Research

Limitations of Google for Online Research

Limitations of search engines for online research

Search engines scratch the surface of available data

The World Wide Web is used by 40 percent of the world’s population and 77 percent of the developed world for news, entertainment, communication and countless other purposes. Even though more people are using Google for searches, we are finding less of the data that’s available. The reason…conventional search engines can only offer up the tip of the iceberg of available information in response to our queries…A measly 3 percent…and it is getting worse.

Google has become the De facto research tool for many people but may be inadequate to rely on for serious matters.

Technology is constantly changing from “box” TVs to Plasma, LCD and LED. A phone has become a computer, and we have come to expect more from them. Our homes look different than they did 10 years ago with chargers in the outlets and multiple screens. Though physical media and communication technology is sophisticated and ever improving, online data is largely unrefined – a hodgepodge of search results with often dubious relevancy and accuracy.

When you Google something, do you look at where the data is located or who owns it? Do you ever look up something one day, and then try to look it up a few days later and can’t find it? When data disappears, where does it go? Do you think about where the data is before you search?

Google results vary worldwide

If you search something on Google from the U.K., you will likely get a completely different set of results than if you made the same search query from Vancouver. The results can vary so much that the top result from the U.K. may be on page 10 if your search query is conducted from Vancouver.

Google is in the business of making money. Results are a blend of location, browsing history and businesses fighting for ranking.

Page 1 results are not necessarily more relevant

Some facts about ranking:

  • #1 in a Google search gets 32% of all the clicks.
  • #2 in a Google search gets 17% of all the clicks.
  • #3 in a Google search gets 11% of all the clicks.

Google’s algorithms rely on more than 200 unique signals or “clues” that make it possible to guess what you might really be looking forfrom Google’s Inside Search.

92 out of every 100 people who search on the Internet do not click past the first page of Google results. Is first page data that relevant? No. First page results get there through a combination of programmatically applied rules that gauge a website’s relevance (Google’s algorithm), online marketing tactics like search engine optimization, Web marketing (often used as techniques to manipulate Google’s results in the hope of increasing ranking), and dumb luck.

A set of programmed rules that sorts data can never be as reliable at vetting information as a human can. The searcher or investigator relies on experience, carefully considered judgments, knowledge of the research subject, and context. We know exactly why we are searching. We understand our intent; Google is only guessing.

So what does all of this tell us?

searching with Google on the Internet today is like dragging a net across the surface of the ocean

Google, Bing and other popular search engines are very useful and make some data on the Internet easy to locate; however, if you are searching for something relevant and unique to a person or business, some nugget of information that relies on human judgment to discern its value, or something not widely published in typical online channels, how can you rely on results returned by a machine? You can’t.

The fact is, Google, a resource that most consider the answer to all questions, has true limitations. You can’t use a hammer to drill a hole, and you can’t look at one page or even hundreds of results returned by Google and assume you’ll find exactly what you are seeking. You’ll find answers, but will you find the right answers?

Search engines just scratch the surface

As only the tip of an iceberg is visible to observers, so is a typical Google search that sees a very small amount of the information that’s available. Mike Bergman, founder of Bright Planet stated that “searching with Google on the Internet today is like dragging a net across the surface of the ocean: a great deal may be caught in the net, but there is a wealth of information that is deep and therefore missed”.

Dragging nets below the surface

The rest of the information is buried in what’s called the deep web. The deep web, consists of data that is not indexed and therefore can’t be located by traditional search engines. It is difficult to know how big the deep web is but at least hundreds or thousands of times larger than the surface web. The deep web doesn’t necessarily hide the data, it’s just that conventional search engine technology has a hard time finding and making sense of it.

The sunken treasures of the deep web

The inability of traditional search engines to examine the deep web represents a major gap in accessing vast amounts of very high quality information existing online. Many of these internal pages have external links, contain blogs, file directories, technical journals, professional papers, photos and untold amounts of data and information that search engines cannot find.

By way of example, most newspapers have their own websites. At times, a search engine will capture a few of the articles that are popular. But for more obscure articles you will have to go directly to the newspaper’s website and search its content. Even with popular news stories, the older they become, the less likely it is they will be returned by a search query.

Don’t give up on Google, just don’t rely on it

Google is arguably the world’s largest search engine.  Understanding that your Google search will provide you results that contain only a small portion of the information available on the Internet.

If there is personal, financial or legal risk to you or your organization, consider using a professionally trained investigator who understands how to mine the webone that conducts real online investigations NOT cursory background checks. Our team has indexed numerous databases held within the deep web, open source, government and proprietary websites that are critical resources for our online investigations.

Coupled with our analytical/investigative methods, we can connect the dots and determine the veracity of the information for personal background checks, legal investigations, corporate due diligence and specialized research.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.