Vérification des antécédents échoué

Vérification des antécédents échoué

Vérifications des antécédents fonctionnent vraiment? Laissez ’ s prendre un moment et en discuter. Il ya eu plusieurs événements importants et médiatisés où les drapeaux rouges ont été manquées dans la vérification des antécédents. Le Wall Street Journal a récemment publié un article que les lacunes identifiées dans la détection d'une l'histoire de l'employé d'un comportement inapproprié ou de fausse déclaration, occasionnant une gêne importante pour les institutions bien connues. L'article a souligné plusieurs événements récents où les cadres de Yahoo, Veritas Software, l'U.S. Department of Homeland Security, ainsi qu'un certain nombre d'administrateurs d'université et des entraîneurs, ont été congédiés ou obligé de démissionner parce qu'ils ont déformé leurs informations d'identification. The list in this article is really just the tip of the iceberg. Inappropriate behavior and misrepresentation is mainstream, tous les deux sur une petite et grande échelle, et dans tous les aspects de la société. Certaines de ces situations vont bien au-delà des embarras, et s'étendent dans la sécurité et la sécurité de nos employés, famille et amis.

The above mentioned situations were subjected to some form of a background check that clearly didn’t work. A background check that simply searches a couple of databases will, dans la plupart des cas, ne fournit pas l'ensemble des informations nécessaires pour prendre une décision précise et éclairée sur quelqu'un ’ fond s. Nul, base de données conserve toutes les informations pertinentes nécessaires pour rend les comparaisons nécessaires, ou indexer les tentacules des informations qui doivent être examinés. Pour être complet, un processus d'analyse doit se faire avec une certaine creusement solide pour assurer la source de l'information déterminée est comparée et fiable et précise. Soyez prudent sur l'utilisation d'une entreprise qui utilise simplement une source de données. La technologie a donné employeurs et personnes une possibilité d'authentifier les antécédents de quelqu'un et se permettre une certaine protection contre le comportement perfide. Avec la bonne approche, la réputation d'une personne, modes de comportement et les associations peuvent parfois, établir.

Combien enquête sur les antécédents est-il suffisant?

Vous ferait un investissement significatif avec une personne que vous ne savez rien?

La question devient alors combien de recherche est assez? Tout cela se résume au montant du risque une personne ou compagnie visages en s'engageant avec une autre personne. Vous ferait un investissement significatif avec une personne que vous ne savez rien? Would you hire and train someone that requires significant time and financial investment without considering a proper background investigation? C'est finalement votre décision, mais un $50 background check might not cut it. Most companies have a bottom line and are not prepared to invest in a proper background investigation and therefore default to a criminal record or credit check.

Authenticating a person’s background is another issue that a simple background check can easily miss. If it’s an obvious lie, puis il sera probablement détecté grâce à une recherche simple. Cependant, les gens sont intelligents. La technologie évolue pour les bonnes et mauvaises. (more on this later). Il ne prend rien pour créer un faux curriculum vitae ou trouver quelqu'un pour être votre référence, défaisant contrôles de base de données simples. Plus inquiétant, ce est la création de sociétés Internet conçus pour enterrer indiscrétions passées d'une personne, ou agir comme leurs références. L'ironie dans tout cela est que la personne va payer beaucoup plus d'argent pour créer un faux CV ou l'identité de l'employeur paiera pour les détecter.

enquête de fond par rapport à la vérification des antécédents

Ce est maintenant une réalité quotidienne pour assister à des tragédies dont embarras entreprises et politiques, perte financière, des blessures et des dommages importants à la réputation d'une. Cependant, avant un incident particulier, la $50 vérification des antécédents quitté l'employeur, institution ou une personne avec un faux sentiment de sécurité qu'ils avaient terminé le processus de diligence raisonnable. Compte tenu du traitement, honoraires, formation et l'embauche / licenciement coûts le long avec le démarrage du processus de recrutement tout recommencer, la $50 vérification des antécédents peut être un peu sous-financée.

Il prend la compétence et la capacité d'examiner les couches de données détenues sur l'Internet et assurer l'information est exacte. Un “Google” vérification des antécédents ne est pas une enquête de fond

Un enquête sur les antécédents complète, le type de “vérification des antécédents” nous menons au Fathom Research Group, est très différent d'une vérification des antécédents qui ressemble tout simplement à un couple de bases de données. Sur ce site, vous verrez nous référons à la vérification des antécédents, mais seulement parce que le public ne fait pas de distinction. Soyez assurés que le service que nous fournissons est une enquête, et pas une recherche rapide. Assurez-vous que vous savez ce que vous avez trouvé et gérer votre situation de risque. Il prend la compétence et la capacité d'examiner les couches de données détenues sur l'Internet et assurer l'information est exacte. Un “Google” vérification des antécédents n'est pas une recherche de fond et est incomplète, leading to a false sense of security. We understand everyone has a bottom line in investing on proper background investigation. Suite à un chemin d'investigation critique peut réduire les coûts et obtenir l'information dont vous avez besoin sans s'aventurer sur une chasse de l'oie sauvage. Nous pouvons regarder votre situation unique, and put something together that will customize your needs that is scalable to whatever potential risk you face. À la fin, une vérification des antécédents simple est juste ce qu'il dit…simple…et va probablement échouer.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Lire more about Pat.

Failed Background Checks

Failed Background Checks

Do background checks really work? Let’s take a moment and discuss this. There have been several high profile and publicized events where red flags were missed in background checks. The Wall Street Journal recently published an article that identified shortcomings in detecting an employee’s history of inappropriate behavior or misrepresentation, causing significant embarrassment to well known institutions. The article highlighted several recent events where executives at Yahoo, Veritas Software, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, as well as a number of university administrators and coaches, have been fired or forced to resign because they misrepresented their credentials. The list in this article is really just the tip of the iceberg.  Inappropriate behavior and misrepresentation is mainstream, both on a small and large scale, and in all aspects of society. Some of these situations go well beyond embarrassment, and extend into the security and safety of our employees, family and friends.

The above mentioned situations were subjected to some form of a background check that clearly didn’t work.  A background check that simply searches a couple of databases will, in most cases, not provide the totality of information required to make an accurate and informed decision on someone’s background. No one database holds all the relevant information required to makes the necessary comparisons, or index the tentacles of information that need to be examined. To be complete, an analytical process needs to occur along with some solid digging to ensure the source of the information is compared and determined reliable and accurate. Be cautious on using a company that simply uses one source of data. Technology has given employers and individuals an ability to authenticate someone’s background and afford some protection from treacherous behavior. With the right approach, a person’s reputation, patterns of behavior and associations can at times, be established.

How much background investigation is enough?

Would you make a significant investment with an individual you know nothing about?

The question then becomes how much research is enough? It all comes down to the amount of risk an individual or company faces when engaging with another person. Would you make a significant investment with an individual you know nothing about?  Would you hire and train someone that requires significant time and financial investment without considering a proper background investigation? It is ultimately your decision, but a $50 background check might not cut it.  Most companies have a bottom line and are not prepared to invest in a proper background investigation and therefore default to a criminal record or credit check.

Authenticating a person’s background is another issue that a simple background check can easily miss.  If it’s an obvious lie, then it will likely be detected through a simple search. However, people are smart. Technology evolves for both the good and bad. (more on this  later). It takes nothing to create a false resume or get someone to be your reference, defeating simple database checks. More disturbing is the creation of Internet companies designed to bury a person’s past indiscretions, or act as their references. The irony in all this is that a person will pay far more money to create a false resume or identity than an employer will pay to detect them.

Background investigation compared to background check

It is now a daily occurrence to witness tragedies including corporate and political embarrassments, financial loss, personal injuries and significant damage to one’s reputation. However, prior to a particular incident, the $50 background check left the employer, institution or individual with a false sense of security that they had completed the appropriate due diligence process. Taking into account salary, fees, training and hiring/firing costs along with starting the recruitment process all over again, the $50 background check may be a little under funded.

It takes skill and ability to examine the layers of data held on the Internet and ensure the information is accurate. A “Google” background check is not a background investigation

A comprehensive background investigation, the type of “background check” we conduct at Fathom Research Group, is very different than a background check that simply looks at a couple of databases. On this website, you’ll see us refer to background checks, but only because the public doesn’t differentiate. Rest assured that the service we provide is an investigation, and not a cursory search. Make sure you know what you are getting and risk manage your situation. It takes skill and ability to examine the layers of data held on the Internet and ensure the information is accurate.  A “Google” background check is not a background investigation and is incomplete, leading to a false sense of security.  We understand everyone has a bottom line in investing on proper background investigation. Following an investigative critical path can reduce cost and get the information you need without venturing on a wild goose chase. We can look at your unique situation, and put something together that will customize your needs that is scalable to whatever potential risk you face.  In the end, a simple background check is just what it says…simple…and will likely fail.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.