没有背景调查

没有背景调查

背景检查真的工作吗? 让 ’ s 花一些时间来讨论这个问题. 已经有一些很高的知名度和宣传活动,其中红旗错过了背景调查. 华尔街日报最近发表 文章 在检测的缺陷识别 员工的历史 不当行为或失实陈述, 造成显著尴尬知名院校. 文章强调了最近的几个事件,其中高管雅虎, VERITAS软件, 在中美. 国土安全部, 以及大量的大学行政人员和教练, 被解雇或被迫辞职,因为他们歪曲其凭据. 这篇文章中的列表是真的只是冰山一角. 不恰当的行为和虚假陈述是主流, 两个在小型和大型的规模, 在社会的各个方面. 其中一些情况远远不是尴尬, 并扩展到安全和员工的安全, 家人和朋友.

上面提到的情况下遭受某种形式的显然没工作的背景调查. 简单搜索几个数据库背景检查将, 在大多数情况下, 不提供给某人准确和明智的决定所需信息的全部 ’ s 背景. 没有一个数据库保存到所需的所有相关信息进行必要的比较, 或索引信息,需要审查的触角. 是完整的, 一种分析过程中需要连同一些固体挖发生,以确保该信息的源进行比较,并确定可靠和准确的. 谨慎使用,仅仅用一个数据源的公司. 科技给 雇主个人 验证一个人的背景和能力的奸诈行为,一些保护的能力. 用正确的方法, 一个人的声誉, 行为模式和协会可以在次, 成立.

多少的背景调查就足够了?

你会让你知道什么的个人重大投资?

那么问题就变成多少研究是不够? 这一切都归结到大量风险的个人或公司的面孔与另一人进行时. 你会让你知道什么的个人重大投资? 你会雇佣和培训需要大量的时间和财务投资,不考虑适当的背景调查的人吗? 它最终是你的决定, 但 $50 背景检查不可能削减它. 大多数公司有一条底线,也不准备投资于适当的背景调查,因此默认为刑事记录或信用检查.

验证一个人的背景是一个简单的背景检查可以很容易错过的另一个问题. 如果它是一个明显的谎言, 然后它将有可能检测到通过简单的搜索. 然而, 人聪明. 技术的不断进步的好与坏. (更多关于这以后). 它需要什么来创建一个虚假的简历或让别人成为你参考, 击败简单的数据库检查. 更令人不安的是创造互联网公司设计的埋葬一个人的过去的失言, 或者作为它们的引用. 在这一切的讽刺意味的​​是,一个人将支付更多的钱,以创造出比雇主虚假简历或身份将支付其中检测.

背景调查相比,背景检查

它现在是一个每天都在发生,见证悲剧,包括企业和政治的尴尬, 亏损, 人身伤害和损坏显著一个人的声誉. 然而, 前的特定事件, 该 $50 背景检查离开雇主, 机构和个人提供安全的错觉,他们已经完成了相应的尽职调查过程. 考虑到薪水, 费, 培训和雇佣/解雇成本以及另起炉灶的招聘过程, 该 $50 背景调查可能受到资助的一个小.

这需要技巧和研究举行的互联网上的数据层,并确保信息的准确能力. 一 “谷歌” 背景检查是不是一个背景调查

全面的背景调查, 的类型 “背景调查” 我们在开展 噚研究小组, 比背景检查,简单地看几个数据库非常不同. 本网站, 你会看到我们参考背景调查, 但仅仅是因为公众不区分. 放心,我们提供的是调查服务, 并不是一个粗略的搜索. 请确保您了解你正在和风险管理您的具体情况. 这需要技巧和研究举行的互联网上的数据层,并确保信息的准确能力. 一 “谷歌” 背景调查背景调查并不是不完整的, 导致虚假的安全感. 我们明白每个人都有合适的背景调查投资的底线. 后调查的关键路径可以降低成本、 获取的信息,你不用冒险野鹅的追逐. 我们可以看看你独特的情况, 并把东西放在一起,将自定义您是可扩展的需求你面对面的任何潜在风险. 到底, 一个简单的背景检查是像它说的…简单…和将可能会失败.

关于作者

Pat Fogarty 是现在领先的互联网研究和调查在前的有组织犯罪调查员 噚研究小组. 阅读 更多关于帕特.

Failed Background Checks

Failed Background Checks

Do background checks really work? Let’s take a moment and discuss this. There have been several high profile and publicized events where red flags were missed in background checks. The Wall Street Journal recently published an article that identified shortcomings in detecting an employee’s history of inappropriate behavior or misrepresentation, causing significant embarrassment to well known institutions. The article highlighted several recent events where executives at Yahoo, Veritas Software, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, as well as a number of university administrators and coaches, have been fired or forced to resign because they misrepresented their credentials. The list in this article is really just the tip of the iceberg.  Inappropriate behavior and misrepresentation is mainstream, both on a small and large scale, and in all aspects of society. Some of these situations go well beyond embarrassment, and extend into the security and safety of our employees, family and friends.

The above mentioned situations were subjected to some form of a background check that clearly didn’t work.  A background check that simply searches a couple of databases will, in most cases, not provide the totality of information required to make an accurate and informed decision on someone’s background. No one database holds all the relevant information required to makes the necessary comparisons, or index the tentacles of information that need to be examined. To be complete, an analytical process needs to occur along with some solid digging to ensure the source of the information is compared and determined reliable and accurate. Be cautious on using a company that simply uses one source of data. Technology has given employers and individuals an ability to authenticate someone’s background and afford some protection from treacherous behavior. With the right approach, a person’s reputation, patterns of behavior and associations can at times, be established.

How much background investigation is enough?

Would you make a significant investment with an individual you know nothing about?

The question then becomes how much research is enough? It all comes down to the amount of risk an individual or company faces when engaging with another person. Would you make a significant investment with an individual you know nothing about?  Would you hire and train someone that requires significant time and financial investment without considering a proper background investigation? It is ultimately your decision, but a $50 background check might not cut it.  Most companies have a bottom line and are not prepared to invest in a proper background investigation and therefore default to a criminal record or credit check.

Authenticating a person’s background is another issue that a simple background check can easily miss.  If it’s an obvious lie, then it will likely be detected through a simple search. However, people are smart. Technology evolves for both the good and bad. (more on this  later). It takes nothing to create a false resume or get someone to be your reference, defeating simple database checks. More disturbing is the creation of Internet companies designed to bury a person’s past indiscretions, or act as their references. The irony in all this is that a person will pay far more money to create a false resume or identity than an employer will pay to detect them.

Background investigation compared to background check

It is now a daily occurrence to witness tragedies including corporate and political embarrassments, financial loss, personal injuries and significant damage to one’s reputation. However, prior to a particular incident, the $50 background check left the employer, institution or individual with a false sense of security that they had completed the appropriate due diligence process. Taking into account salary, fees, training and hiring/firing costs along with starting the recruitment process all over again, the $50 background check may be a little under funded.

It takes skill and ability to examine the layers of data held on the Internet and ensure the information is accurate. A “Google” background check is not a background investigation

A comprehensive background investigation, the type of “background check” we conduct at Fathom Research Group, is very different than a background check that simply looks at a couple of databases. On this website, you’ll see us refer to background checks, but only because the public doesn’t differentiate. Rest assured that the service we provide is an investigation, and not a cursory search. Make sure you know what you are getting and risk manage your situation. It takes skill and ability to examine the layers of data held on the Internet and ensure the information is accurate.  A “Google” background check is not a background investigation and is incomplete, leading to a false sense of security.  We understand everyone has a bottom line in investing on proper background investigation. Following an investigative critical path can reduce cost and get the information you need without venturing on a wild goose chase. We can look at your unique situation, and put something together that will customize your needs that is scalable to whatever potential risk you face.  In the end, a simple background check is just what it says…simple…and will likely fail.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.