是犯罪率真的会降临?

是犯罪率真的会降临?

Crime rates

是犯罪率下降真的, 还是有未包括在统计犯罪?

菲沙研究所最近发​​布了 报告 (PDF) 说明该 “犯罪率” 在加拿大继续下降, 但调查犯罪成本继续上升.

很多人根本不打扰报案

查看报告有所不同, 我会同意,报犯罪率下降, 但不是未报告的速率. 罪犯不抢银行多了, 比为保险起见其他, 很多人根本不打扰报案. 正如报告指出, 司法过程变得更加昂贵, 极其复杂和更苛刻, 使劲系统的可信性.

我仍然有超过七十岁了还没有开始通过法院来使他们的方式的情况下. 这些调查是在与其他国家一起做, 所有这些都被定罪并判处他们指责年前.

我们只要看看Ghomeshi事件和妇女不愿正式投诉. 指控, 如果确定为犯罪, 可能从来没有被列入整体罪案统计数字,如果不是因为对公示收到的水平. 有多少类似的和未报告的犯罪发生? 可悲的是, 我建议这是一个日常事件. 我不怪这些妇女一个位. 在法庭上独自站立, 由熟练的辩护律师正在积极研究, 揭露一切关于你自己是一个艰巨的和可怕的命题. 如果这还不够, 无数舆论和受害者归咎于社交媒体可以有一个巨大的情感代价不可预知的结果.

什么犯罪率不包括

现代, 互联网时代的罪行可能高达, 而在同一时间, 对于提到的原因, 报告可能会下降

数据, 用分析师生成 “犯罪率” 来自报道的犯罪如诈骗, 盗窃, 抢劫, 攻击, 谋杀, 等. 由于体积的许多这些罪行永远不会得到适当的调查, 复杂性, 资源和时间所需.

在过去的 10 多年来,我的执法生涯, 似乎有智力上的犯罪行为产生量也在不断增加, 其中大部分不能因此对这个庞大的数据量采取行动不是罪案率统计的一部分.

一般的犯罪集团, 社会作为一个整体, 远远更加复杂,以及从会议警用雷达删除. 技术和社交媒体平台,极大地推进网络犯罪,并避免被发现的能力,能力. 社交媒体也升高了潜在的公众监督, 羞愧和尴尬, 可为本报告所述犯罪的阻吓作用. 所以, 事实上, 现代天, 互联网时代的罪行可能高达, 而在同一时间, 对于提到的原因, 报告可能已关闭 — — 之间日益扩大的两个海湾.

网络犯罪正在迅速增长

罪犯和普通的歹徒发现互联网是一种丰富, 和很大程度上无人看守的景观

主席奧巴馬最近表示,网络恐怖主义是美国面临的最大威胁之一. 各种非法的基于互联网的犯罪机会超越网络恐怖主义是无止境的,难以精确测量.

罪犯和普通的歹徒发现互联网是一种丰富, 并在很大程度上无人防守的景观,促进各种犯罪和不良行为不受约束的增长.

一个例子是欺负. 有欺负时,发生在走廊和学校的操场时间. 什么时候 “约翰尼” 回去上课了一鼻子灰, 有人立即报告. 现在, 网络Bulling对话发生在社会化媒体, 并能达到一个孩子无论他们的智能手机进入. 这是更难以察觉这些罪行,除非 “约翰尼” 报告它自己.

现代犯罪的经济和社会成本

执法和司法系统的成本将继续对政府的上升和地方显著的压力来维持可接受的服务水平. 我们将继续看到服务的优先级较低的反应侵蚀和私人保安较高的依赖. 各种形式的网络犯罪和诈骗将继续上升,到最后, 我们将共同需要提高我们的责任程度为我们自己的安全.

总结

犯罪率, 报道, 可能无法准确反映犯罪的现状在这个新时代. 而罪犯在黑暗的操作, 未知领域, 未被发现, 有这么多的犯罪未报告, 我们真的可以说犯罪率下降? 我希望, 对我更好的判断, 这是, 但我们衡量犯罪的传统方法可能需要调整.

关于作者

Pat Fogarty 是现在领先的互联网研究和调查在前的有组织犯罪调查员 噚研究小组. 阅读 更多关于帕特.

Are Crime Rates Really Falling?

Are Crime Rates Really Falling?

Crime rates

Are crime rates really falling, or are there crimes that aren’t included in the stats?

The Fraser Institute recently released a report (PDF) stating that the “crime rate” in Canada continues to drop, but the cost of investigating crime continues to rise.

Many people simply don’t bother reporting crime

Viewing the report somewhat differently, I would agree that the reported crime rate is dropping, but not the unreported rate. Criminals don’t rob banks much anymore, and other than for insurance purposes, many people simply don’t bother reporting crime. As the report indicates, the judicial process has become more expensive, extremely complicated and more demanding, straining the credibility of the system.

I still have cases that are over seven years old that have not even started to make their way through court. These investigations were done in conjunction with other countries, all of which have convicted and sentenced their accused years ago.

One only has to look at the Ghomeshi affair and the reluctance of women to formally complain. The allegations, if determined to be criminal, may have never been included in the overall crime statistics had it not been for the level of publicity it received. How many of these similar and unreported crimes occur? Sadly, I would suggest it is a daily event. I don’t blame these women one bit. Standing alone in a courtroom, being vigorously examined by a skilled trial lawyer, exposing everything about yourself is a daunting and scary proposition. If that isn’t enough, the myriad opinion and victim blaming on social media can take has a huge emotional toll with unpredictable results.

What crime rates don’t include

Modern-day, Internet-era crime may be up, while at the same time, for reasons mentioned, reporting may be down

The data, used by analysts to generate “crime rates” comes from reported crime such as frauds, thefts, robberies, assaults, murder, etc. Many of these crimes never get properly investigated because of volume, complexity, resources and time required.

Over the last 10 years of my law enforcement career, there seemed to be a growing amount of intelligence generated on criminal activity, most of which could not be acted upon therefore this huge amount of data is not part of crime rate statistics.

Crime groups in general, and society as a whole, are far more sophisticated and well removed from convention police radar. Technology and social media platforms have greatly advanced the capabilities of cybercrime and the ability to avoid detection. Social media has also elevated the potential for public scrutiny, shame and embarrassment, which can be a deterrent for reporting crime. So, in fact, modern-day, Internet-era crime may be up, while at the same time, for reasons mentioned, reporting may be down—the gulf between the two ever widening.

Cybercrime is growing rapidly

Criminals and run-of-the-mill miscreants have found the Internet to be a rich, and largely unguarded landscape

President Obama recently stated that Cyber terrorism is one of the greatest threats that the United States faces. The variety of illicit Internet-based crime opportunities beyond cyber terrorism are endless and difficult to accurately measure.

Criminals and run-of-the-mill miscreants have found the Internet to be a rich, and largely unguarded landscape that promotes unfettered growth for all kinds of crime and bad behaviour.

An example is bullying. There was a time when bullying took place in the hallways and playgrounds of our schools. When “Johnny” went back to class with a bloody nose, it was immediately reported. Now, cyber bulling takes place on social media, and can reach a child wherever their smart phone goes. It is far more difficult to detect these crimes unless “Johnny” reports it himself.

The economic and social costs of modern crime

The cost of law enforcement and the justice system will continue to rise and place significant pressures on governments to maintain an acceptable level of service. We will continue to see an erosion of services for lower priority responses and a higher reliance on private security. Various forms of cybercrime and fraud will continue to rise and in the end, we will collectively need to raise our level of responsibility for our own safety.

Summary

Crime rates, as reported, may not accurately reflect the actualities of crime in this new era. While criminals operate in dark, uncharted territory, undetected, and with so much crime unreported, can we really say the crime rate is down? I hope, against my better judgment, that it is, but the conventional means by which we measure crime may need an adjustment.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.