تنقص معدلات الجريمة حقا?

تنقص معدلات الجريمة حقا?

Crime rates

ومعدلات الجريمة انخفضت حقا, أم أن هناك جرائم التي لم يتم تضمينها في احصائيات?

الإفراج عن معهد فريزر مؤخرا تقرير (PDF) مشيرا إلى أن “معدل الجريمة” في كندا يواصل الانخفاض, ولكن تكلفة التحقيق في الجرائم مستمرة في الارتفاع.

كثير من الناس ببساطة لا تهتم الجريمة التقارير

عرض التقرير بشكل مختلف إلى حد ما, وأود أن نتفق على أن معدل الجريمة ذكرت ينخفض, ولكن ليس معدل غير المبلغ عنها. المجرمين تفعل البنوك لا تسلب كثيرا بعد الآن, وبخلاف لأغراض التأمين, كثير من الناس ببساطة لا تهتم الجريمة التقارير. كما يشير التقرير, أصبحت العملية القضائية أكثر تكلفة, تعقيدا للغاية وأكثر تطلبا, توتير مصداقية النظام.

لا يزال لدي الحالات التي هي أكثر من سبع سنوات القديمة التي لم تقم حتى بدأت تشق طريقها من خلال المحكمة. وقد أجريت هذه التحقيقات بالتعاون مع الدول الأخرى, وقد أدين وحكم عليه قبل سنوات عمرهم اتهم كل منها.

وما على المرء إلا أن ينظر في هذه القضية Ghomeshi وإحجام النساء تقديم شكوى رسمية. هذه المزاعم, إذا مصممة على أن تكون مجرم, قد لم تكن مدرجة في إحصاءات الجريمة عموما لو لم يكن لمستوى الدعاية التي تلقتها. كم من هذه الجرائم المماثلة وغير المبلغ عنها تحدث? للأسف, أود أن أقترح أنه هو الحدث اليومي. أنا لا ألوم هؤلاء النساء بت واحد. يقف وحده في قاعة المحكمة, يجري بحثها بقوة من قبل محام محاكمة المهرة, فضح كل شيء عن نفسك هو اقتراح شاقة ومخيفة. إذا كان هذا لا يكفي, رأي لا تعد ولا تحصى وإلقاء اللوم على الضحية على وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية يمكن أن تتخذ لديه حصيلة العاطفي ضخمة مع نتائج غير متوقعة.

ما هي الجريمة معدلات لا تشمل

العصر الحديث-, قد يكون جريمة عصر الإنترنت المتابعة, بينما في نفس الوقت, للأسباب المذكورة, قد تكون التقارير أسفل

البيانات, المستخدمة من قبل المحللين لتوليد “معدلات الجريمة” يأتي من الجريمة ذكرت مثل الاحتيال, السرقات, السرقات, الاعتداءات, قتل, الخ. لم تحصل على التحقيق في كثير من هذه الجرائم بشكل صحيح بسبب حجم, تعقيد, الموارد والوقت المطلوب.

خلال آخر 10 سنوات من مسيرتي إنفاذ القانون, يبدو أن قدرا متزايدا من المخابرات إنشاؤها على النشاط الإجرامي هناك, معظمها لا يمكن العمل على أساسها وبالتالي هذه كمية هائلة من البيانات ليست جزءا من إحصاءات معدل الجريمة.

جماعات الجريمة بشكل عام, المجتمع وككل, وأكثر تطورا بكثير وكذلك إزالتها من اتفاقية رادار الشرطة. التكنولوجيا ووسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية منصات تقدمت بشكل كبير قدرات الجريمة الإلكترونية والقدرة على تجنب الكشف. وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية ارتقى أيضا الإمكانات للتدقيق العام, الخجل والحرج, التي يمكن أن تكون رادعا للجريمة المشمولة بالتقرير. هكذا, في الحقيقة, العصر الحديث, قد يكون جريمة عصر الإنترنت المتابعة, بينما في نفس الوقت, للأسباب المذكورة, قد يكون الإبلاغ إلى أسفل – الخليج بينهما في الاتساع.

الجريمة السيبرانية ينمو بسرعة

وقد وجدت المجرمين والأوغاد تافه الإنترنت لتكون غنية, والمناظر الطبيعية إلى حد كبير دون حراسة

وذكر الرئيس أوباما مؤخرا أن الإرهاب الإلكتروني هو واحد من أخطر التهديدات التي تواجه الولايات المتحدة. مجموعة متنوعة من الفرص غير المشروعة الجريمة على شبكة الإنترنت وراء الإرهاب الإلكتروني لا حصر لها ويصعب قياس دقيق.

وقد وجدت المجرمين والأوغاد تافه الإنترنت لتكون غنية, والمناظر الطبيعية بدون حراسة إلى حد كبير أن يعزز النمو غير المقيد لجميع أنواع الجريمة والسلوك السيئ.

ومن الأمثلة على البلطجة. كان هناك وقت عندما البلطجة وقعت في الممرات والملاعب مدارسنا. متى “جوني” عاد إلى الدرجة مع أنف الدموي, أفيد فورا. الآن, bulling السيبرانية يجري على وسائل الاعلام الاجتماعية, ويمكن أن تصل إلى الطفل أينما يذهب هواتفهم الذكية. ومن أصعب بكثير للكشف عن هذه الجرائم إلا إذا “جوني” تقارير بنفسه.

التكاليف الاقتصادية والاجتماعية للجريمة الحديثة

فإن تكلفة إنفاذ القانون ونظام العدالة تستمر في الارتفاع ووضع ضغوط كبيرة على الحكومات للحفاظ على مستوى مقبول من الخدمات. وسوف نستمر في رؤية تآكل الخدمات للاستجابات أقل أولوية والاعتماد العالي على الأمن الخاص. ومختلف أشكال الجريمة الإلكترونية والاحتيال تستمر في الارتفاع، وفي النهاية, سنحتاج جماعي لرفع مستوى لدينا من المسؤولية عن سلامتنا.

ملخص

معدلات الجريمة, كما ذكرت, وقد لا تعكس بدقة الفعليات الجريمة في هذا العصر الجديد. في حين المجرمين تعمل في الظلام, منطقة مجهولة, لم يتم كشفها, ومع الكثير من الجريمة يبلغ عنها, يمكننا حقا أن نقول معدل الجريمة انخفض? آمل, ضد بلدي أفضل حكم, أنه, ولكن الوسائل التقليدية التي نقيس الجريمة قد تحتاج إلى تعديل.

نبذة عن الكاتب

بات فوغارتي هو محقق الجريمة المنظمة السابق تقود الآن البحث في الإنترنت والتحقيقات في مجموعة أبحاث القامة. قرأ <ل href="http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?depth=1&hl=en&prev=search&rurl=translate.google.co.uk&sl=ar&u=http://www.fathomresearchgroup.com/about/our-team/?lang=ar&usg=ALkJrhhOGznMVuL29bcRKlgdja-oo8lyBQ">more حول بات .

Are Crime Rates Really Falling?

Are Crime Rates Really Falling?

Crime rates

Are crime rates really falling, or are there crimes that aren’t included in the stats?

The Fraser Institute recently released a report (PDF) stating that the “crime rate” in Canada continues to drop, but the cost of investigating crime continues to rise.

Many people simply don’t bother reporting crime

Viewing the report somewhat differently, I would agree that the reported crime rate is dropping, but not the unreported rate. Criminals don’t rob banks much anymore, and other than for insurance purposes, many people simply don’t bother reporting crime. As the report indicates, the judicial process has become more expensive, extremely complicated and more demanding, straining the credibility of the system.

I still have cases that are over seven years old that have not even started to make their way through court. These investigations were done in conjunction with other countries, all of which have convicted and sentenced their accused years ago.

One only has to look at the Ghomeshi affair and the reluctance of women to formally complain. The allegations, if determined to be criminal, may have never been included in the overall crime statistics had it not been for the level of publicity it received. How many of these similar and unreported crimes occur? Sadly, I would suggest it is a daily event. I don’t blame these women one bit. Standing alone in a courtroom, being vigorously examined by a skilled trial lawyer, exposing everything about yourself is a daunting and scary proposition. If that isn’t enough, the myriad opinion and victim blaming on social media can take has a huge emotional toll with unpredictable results.

What crime rates don’t include

Modern-day, Internet-era crime may be up, while at the same time, for reasons mentioned, reporting may be down

The data, used by analysts to generate “crime rates” comes from reported crime such as frauds, thefts, robberies, assaults, murder, etc. Many of these crimes never get properly investigated because of volume, complexity, resources and time required.

Over the last 10 years of my law enforcement career, there seemed to be a growing amount of intelligence generated on criminal activity, most of which could not be acted upon therefore this huge amount of data is not part of crime rate statistics.

Crime groups in general, and society as a whole, are far more sophisticated and well removed from convention police radar. Technology and social media platforms have greatly advanced the capabilities of cybercrime and the ability to avoid detection. Social media has also elevated the potential for public scrutiny, shame and embarrassment, which can be a deterrent for reporting crime. So, in fact, modern-day, Internet-era crime may be up, while at the same time, for reasons mentioned, reporting may be down—the gulf between the two ever widening.

Cybercrime is growing rapidly

Criminals and run-of-the-mill miscreants have found the Internet to be a rich, and largely unguarded landscape

President Obama recently stated that Cyber terrorism is one of the greatest threats that the United States faces. The variety of illicit Internet-based crime opportunities beyond cyber terrorism are endless and difficult to accurately measure.

Criminals and run-of-the-mill miscreants have found the Internet to be a rich, and largely unguarded landscape that promotes unfettered growth for all kinds of crime and bad behaviour.

An example is bullying. There was a time when bullying took place in the hallways and playgrounds of our schools. When “Johnny” went back to class with a bloody nose, it was immediately reported. Now, cyber bulling takes place on social media, and can reach a child wherever their smart phone goes. It is far more difficult to detect these crimes unless “Johnny” reports it himself.

The economic and social costs of modern crime

The cost of law enforcement and the justice system will continue to rise and place significant pressures on governments to maintain an acceptable level of service. We will continue to see an erosion of services for lower priority responses and a higher reliance on private security. Various forms of cybercrime and fraud will continue to rise and in the end, we will collectively need to raise our level of responsibility for our own safety.

Summary

Crime rates, as reported, may not accurately reflect the actualities of crime in this new era. While criminals operate in dark, uncharted territory, undetected, and with so much crime unreported, can we really say the crime rate is down? I hope, against my better judgment, that it is, but the conventional means by which we measure crime may need an adjustment.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.