一个调查剖析

一个调查剖析

investigation anatomy

确保您的调查组,避免了调查的不可预见的负面后果,遵循最佳实践

有许多不同种类的 调查, 如职场犯罪, 监管, 民用等. 由于不同的,因为他们似乎, 调查有很多共同之处. 他们都有某种形式的上诉程序设计为质疑的事实或如何进行了调查. 任何上诉, 监督审查或审讯的重点是公平, 合法性和调查过程. 如何进行的调查可能是相去甚远什么法院或咨询意见,适当的调查协议. 不正确进行调查,可能是极其危险的, 价格昂贵,损害你的底线和您的组织的声誉.

一个正确进行调查,可以让你出法庭

任何调查的批评,将挑战要么其结果或质量

进行调查,以一个标准,可承受的审查需要一个结构化的方法, 精心策划, 适当的资源和 熟练的调查. 任何调查的批评,将挑战要么其结果或质量. 如果发现不能被质疑, 有可能是企图抹黑其全部调查. 做一个调查以及重要性, 重点是彻底性和客观性作出任何争议的审裁官席前, 法院, 媒体或公众很难.

保持调查远离查询或法庭可以很简单,比如做好它. 我们已经花费数年成功地进行调查, 其中大部分永远不会结束了在法庭上. 虽然彻底检讨, 调查过程是可防御的,因此无可指责.

这里有一些原则要记住,你开始任何调查前,.

调查人员必须是独立的

调查必须公正,被认为是公正的. 调查结果预定结果将危及调查的完整性,并会经不起推敲,如果有人参与演示偏向一方或另一方. 研究者应保持与每个人的职业关系与调查,并没有更多的相关. 一个好的研究者保持中立,客观的立场, 既不过于友好, 也不是判断调查对象,直到所有的证据收集.

调查人员必须经过培训,经验丰富

进行适当的调查是不是为业余爱好者,可以是非常危险的. 调查员应具备的经验,并进行记录调查和司法挑战. 经验水平取决于被调查的问题或事件的严重性. 大型,更复杂的调查需要显著更多经验.

调查并追究所有相关问题

为防止隧道视野, 调查任务需要显式地定义

有时侧重于对调查的挑战 “隧道视野”— — 有意识或无意识的偏见,会阻止一名调查员考虑他或她的偏见重点领域之外的相关问题. 为防止隧道视野, 调查任务需要显式地定义, 包括如何将陷害的调查和对关键路径的目标和活动. 一旦这些制衡措施到位, 调查可以推进保障程度高,所有有关事项都会被识别和调查.

调查必须适当的资源

一个简单的调查,需要比调查涉及更大的系统性指控更少的资源. 无论调查的规模和呼吸, 调查人员需要适当的时间和资源来进行彻底的过程. 法院不关心缺乏时间或资源; 他们在那里以保证法律适用的应用. 调查人员不应该太多的工作超负荷,因为他们需要时间来正确地进行, 评估和记录他们的研究结果. 调查是有风险的业务,不仅要承受批评探索, 但也必须正确地进行 及时.

鉴定, 集, 保存和审查证据

如何证件, 电子邮件和其他物证被查封和处理,对任何法律程序的关键

与大调查来更大的问题. 有很多 调查失败的例子 缺乏适当的身份证明和法律文件的不正确处理造成的. 进行一次调查以多个展品, 采访, and examinations of evidence may require a professional who has verifiable experience. 如何证件, 电子邮件和其他物证被查封和处理,对任何法律程序的关键. 展品的连续性具有保持和占. 在调查期间收集的材料的分析必须客观并且完全基于事实. 什么是普通公众察觉作为 “正确” 往往是远远严格的法律标准.

所有相关文件必须是安全的, 搜索和访问

档案管理,妥善组织披露的诉讼信息是必须的. 在您的调查是大且包含显著数量的材料来公开事件, 寻求专业人士的帮助. 我目睹了许多调查,通过信息披露要求的斗争, 只是迷失在自己的文件. 完全依赖于一个软件程序来组织您的材料可以提供虚假的安全感. Information must be properly entered for a relational database to work. Documenting, 组织和访问信息是关键组成部分的主管, 可靠的调查和法律程序.

证人需要标识与隔离

一名受过训练的调查员会审查的有关问题和文档之前面试

准备工作是关键进行适当的面试. 更多的准备应该发生的被视为重要的调查证人. 一名受过训练的调查员会审查的有关问题和文档之前面试; 学习一切可能对人或人,他们将采访; 了解文化, 结构, 和基本组织的政治; 衡量面试题目的情感/心理状态; 和, 考虑如何调查将被解释.

结论

我们的大多数情况下,没上过法庭,但进行了详细的回顾, 确定过程, 程序和法律

经验丰富的侦查员准备他们的调查与这一进程将根据检查的一些法律程序或查询的心态. 审判百分之九十是关于调查的过程,而不是证据.

提供给我的调查小组的监督始终专注于让法​​律界和法律的精神内调查的创意水平. 我们的大多数情况下,没上过法庭,但进行了详细的回顾, 确定过程, 程序和法律.

噚研究组的专业调查采用同样的原则,背景调查, 尤其 企业法律调查, 以确保均衡, 合乎道德的, 和法律的办法.

关于作者

Pat Fogarty 是现在领先的互联网研究和调查在前的有组织犯罪调查员 噚研究小组. 阅读 更多关于帕特.

Anatomy of an Investigation

Anatomy of an Investigation

investigation anatomy

Avoid unforeseen negative consequences of an investigation by ensuring your investigation team follows best practices

There are many different kinds of investigations, such as workplace criminal, regulatory, civil and so on. As diverse as they may seem, investigations have many commonalities. They all have some form of an appeal process designed to either challenge the facts or how the investigation was conducted. Any appeal, oversight review or inquest focuses on fairness, lawfulness and the process of the investigation. How an investigation is conducted may be be a far cry from what a court or inquiry views as proper investigative protocol. An improperly conducted investigation can be extremely risky, expensive and damaging to your bottom line and your organization’s reputation.

A properly conducted investigation can keep you out of court

Criticism of any investigation will challenge either its results or its quality

Conducting an investigation to a standard that withstands scrutiny requires a structured approach, careful planning, appropriate resources and skilled investigators. Criticism of any investigation will challenge either its results or its quality. If the finding cannot be challenged, there may be an attempt to discredit the investigation in its entirety. The importance of doing an investigation well, with a focus on thoroughness and objectivity makes any disputes before an adjudicator, a court, the media or public difficult.

Keeping an investigation away from an inquiry or courtroom can be as simple as doing it properly. We have spend years conducting successful investigations, most of which never end up in a courtroom. Though thoroughly reviewed, the investigative process was defendable and therefore irreproachable.

Here are some principles to keep in mind before you start any investigation.

Investigators must be independent

Investigators have to be impartial and be seen to be impartial. A predetermined outcome of the findings will compromise the integrity of an investigation and will not withstand scrutiny if anyone involved demonstrates a bias towards one party or another. An investigator should maintain a professional relationship with everyone associated with an investigation and nothing more. A good investigator maintains a position of neutrality and objectiveness, neither being too friendly, nor judging the subject of the investigation until all the evidence is gathered.

Investigators must be trained and experienced

Conducting a proper investigation is not for amateurs and can be very risky. An investigator should have experience conducting and documenting investigations and judicial challenges. The level of experience depends on the seriousness of the issue or event under investigation. Large and more complex investigations require significantly more experience.

Investigate and pursue all relevant issues

As a safeguard against tunnel vision, the investigative mandate needs to be explicitly defined

Challenges to investigations sometimes focus on “tunnel vision”—a conscious or unconscious bias that prevents an investigator from considering relevant issues outside the focal area of his or her prejudice. As a safeguard against tunnel vision, the investigative mandate needs to be explicitly defined, including how the investigation will be framed and the critical path of objectives and activities. Once these checks and balances are in place, the investigation can move forward with a high degree of assurance that all relevant matters will be identified and investigated.

Investigations must be properly resourced

A simple investigation requires fewer resources than an investigation involving larger systemic allegations. Regardless of the size and breath of the investigation, investigators need appropriate time and resources to conduct a thorough process. Courts don’t care about lack of time or resources; they are there to ensure the application of law is applied. Investigators shouldn’t be overloaded with too much work as they need time to properly conduct, assess and document their findings. An investigation is risky business that not only has to withstand critical inquiry, but also must be conducted correctly and in a timely fashion.

Identification, collection, preservation and examination of evidence

How documents, email and other physical evidence are seized and handled is critical to any legal process

With big investigation come bigger problems. There are many examples of failed investigations caused by a lack of proper identification and incorrect processing of legal documentation. Conducting an investigation with multiple exhibits, interviews, and examinations of evidence may require a professional who has verifiable experience.  How documents, email and other physical evidence are seized and handled is critical to any legal process. The continuity of exhibits has to be maintained and accounted for. The analysis of material gathered during the investigation must be objective and based solely on the facts. What the lay public perceives as “proper” is often far from stringent legal standards.

All relevant documentation must be secured, searchable and accessible

File management and properly organized disclosure of information in legal proceedings is a must. In the event that your investigation is large and contains significant amounts of material to disclose, seek professional help. I have witnessed many investigations struggle through disclosure requirements, only to get lost in their own file. Relying completely on a software program to organize your material can provide a false sense of security. Information must be properly entered for a relational database to work.  Documenting, organizing and accessing information are critical components of competent, reliable investigation and legal processes.

Witnesses need to be identified and segregated

A trained investigator will examine the relevant issues and documentation in advance of the interview

Preparation is the key to conducting a proper interview. More preparation should occur for a witness that is deemed important to the investigation. A trained investigator will examine the relevant issues and documentation in advance of the interview; learn everything they can about the person or people they will interview; understand the culture, structure, and underlying politics of an organization; gauge the emotional/psychological state of the interview subject; and, consider how the investigation will be interpreted.

Conclusions

Most of our cases never went to court but were reviewed in detail, determining process, procedure and law

Seasoned investigators prepare their investigations with the mindset that the process will be examined pursuant to some legal process or inquiry. Ninety percent of a trial is about the process of the investigation and not the evidence.

The oversight provided to my investigative teams has always focused on allowing levels of investigative creativity within the bounds of the law and the spirit of the law. Most of our cases never went to court but were reviewed in detail, determining process, procedure and law.

Fathom Research Group’s professional investigators apply the same principles to background checks, particularly corporate or legal investigations, to ensure a balanced, ethical, and legal approach.

About the Author

Pat Fogarty is a former organized crime investigator now leading Internet research and investigations at Fathom Research Group. Read more about Pat.